Driver’s licenses and state identification (ID) cards are issued by the state in which you reside; the laws
Do I need a Virginia driver's license?
I am a full-time student
If you are a full-time student and have a valid foreign license, you may drive with that. Be sure to have an English translation of the foreign license, or consider getting an international driving permit.
I am a scholar
You can drive with your valid foreign license for no more than 6 months. Be sure to have an English translation of the foreign license, or consider getting an international driving permit. If you plan to continue driving in the US after 6 months, you must obtain a Virginia license.
However, you must get a Virginia license within 60 days if:
I am a W&M employee
If you wish to drive in Virginia, you must apply for a VA license within 60 days of moving here.
I just need a State Identification (ID) Card; I don't need to drive
If you want just an ID card (does not allow you to drive but is useful when proving age for buying alcohol), you can obtain one at the DMV
This option is only available to people who have earned income and filed a Virginia tax return within the past 12 months. A driver privilege card is not a traditional license, and you cannot use it as identification to board flights or enter federal facilities, but it will enable you to drive.
Requirements (full list available on DMV website):
Driver's License Application Process
I never had a driver's license (in any state or country)
If you are 18 years old or older, you must provide proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver education program or you must have held a learner's permit at least 60 days before you can take the road skills test.
If you are under age 18, you must complete a state-approved driver education program and hold your Virginia learner's permit for at least nine months.
I have a license from another state or country
Regardless of age, you may be required to take a written test, or take both a written and driving test, depending on the country that issued your license. You will need to ask directly at the DMV.
If you have a license from another U.S. state, Canada, Germany, or France, then you may simply obtain a Virginia license by completing the application and paying the fee. Licenses from other U.S. states or Canada will be invalidated when you receive your Virginia license.
The driver's license will be issued for the period listed on your I-20 or DS-2019, not to exceed 5 years. The cost of the license is $4 for each year issued,
Complete your Immigration Check-in
As a new student or scholar, to be eligible for a Virginia driver's license or ID card, your immigration record must first be registered by the
- Students can request registration by completing the student immigration check-in:
- Login to iStart using your W&M ID and Password.
- Select Immigration Check-in from the left menu
- Select Immigration Check-in and complete the Immigration Check-In form.
- Scholars can request registration by completing the scholar immigration check-in.
You will receive an email once your immigration record has been registered.
Individuals who want to apply for a driver's license, learner's permit, or state ID card will need to present the following documents to the DMV:
- Two proofs of identity
- One proof of legal presence
- Two proofs of Virginia residency
- One proof of Social Security number (if you have been issued one)
All documents must be originals:
Proof of Identity
Applicants must present two proofs of identity. Documents submitted must show your full legal name and date of birth. They may both come from the primary list of documents, or one from the primary list and the other one from the secondary list.
Proof of Legal Presence
Applicants must present one proof of legal presence. Accepted documents include:
Applicants must present two proofs of Virginia Residency. Accepted documents must show the current street address (not PO Box, CSU Box, or GSH box) and include:
You have two options to obtain a transcript that lists your on-campus street address:
Ordering with transcript request form (pdf):
Online ordering at www.getmytranscript.com
Proof of Social Security Number (you need one from this list only if you have a Social Security Number)
Applicants must present one proof of SSN only if they have been issued one.
Renewing Your Driver's License or ID card After Graduation
Learn more about this process.
Virginia laws require children to be in child safety seats (e.g., car seat) till the age of 8 years old. There are many different types of car seats and it is important to select the appropriate car seat based on the age and size of your child. Car seats must also be properly installed.
Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center - Williamsburg
5235 John Tyler Highway, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Hours: 9am-5pm Monday - Friday, 8am-12pm Saturday, except holidays.
Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center - Gloucester
2348 York Crossing Drive, Hayes, VA 23072 (Food Lion Shopping Center)
Directions to the Williamsburg DMV by Bus
Take the Jamestown Line of the Williamsburg Area Transit (free with your W&M ID).
Google Transit allows you to search for routes using public transportation.