Biennial Conference

2020 Conference: Metaethics and Theism

This conference is part of a series of workshops that have been organized by Chris Tucker (W&M), Michael Murphy (Georgetown), and Christian Miller (Wake Forest) to promote more sustained reflection on the intersection of mainstream ethics and philosophy of religion. Contemporary philosophy of religion has been richly informed by important work in metaphysics and epistemology. Yet current philosophy of religion is, to some extent, insulated from mainstream ethical theory (broadly construed). The moral theories at play in discussions of theism are often crude and piecemeal, with no deep theoretical grounding. In mainstream ethical theory, theism’s connection to ethics is often dismissed with a passing reference to Euthyphro’s dilemma. This conference aims to address this problem.

More information coming! Local Organizer: Chris Tucker, [[cstucker]].

Past Conferences

Applied Neo-pragmatism (2018)

Epistemology and Cognition (2016)

The Authority of Tradition (2014)

Responsibility & Relationships: 50 Years of Strawson's 'Freedom and Resentment' (2012)

Study of the Human Self (2008)

The Future of Democracy (2006)

The Department of Philosophy is grateful to Teresa Thompson ('67) and Michael Foradas ('78)
for their generous support.