Student Awards

The Philosophy Department typically bestows two student awards annually.

The Jennifer Bosanko Memorial Scholarship is awarded each Fall to one or two philosophy majors who are judged through a brief application to show an inquisitive sprit and well-rounded approach to the world. For more details about the origin of the award and to see a list of past recipients, consult the Bosanko Scholarships page.

The Jerry Miller Essay Award is bestowed in the Spring upon a graduating senior who, in the judgment of a faculty panel, has written the best prize-worthy essay. The prize is announced and typically presented at graduation. The recipient, however, need not be a spring graduate as long as he or she graduates within the given academic year. For more information about the establishment of this award, rules for submission, and a list of past recipients, please see the Miller Essay Award page.