Domicile in the Commonwealth of Virginia
As one of Virginia's public institutions, William & Mary adheres to the domiciliary requirements set forth by Virginia law. Reduced tuition charges are subsidized by the taxpayers of Virginia, and eligibility is governed by Section 23.1-500 through 23.1-510 of the Code of Virginia.
The following links provide source documents concerning domicile. All determinations of in-state tuition eligibility are dictated by the Code of Virginia and the regulations set forth by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) Domicile Guidelines.
- Virginia Domicile Law - Code of Virginia
- Virginia Domicile Guidelines - Virginia Administrative Code
- Domicile Resources - State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)
- Financial Benefits for Military Veterans and their Families
- Domicile Determinations for Students Under Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals
Please contact our office if you have any specific questions about your domiciliary status.
Domicile at William & Mary
To be eligible for in-state status, an individual (or the parent, legal guardian or spouse who provides financial support) must demonstrate residence in Virginia and an intent to remain in Virginia indefinitely to establish domicile in Virginia, then maintain domicile in Virginia for at least 12 months preceding the first day of classes. Your primary purpose in moving to Virginia must have been to establish yourself as a resident of Virginia, not to attend school.
Applicants for admission to William & Mary, both new and re-entry, who seek Virginia in-state tuition rates, must complete an Application for Virginia In-state Tuition Privileges (pdf). For those students interested in applying under the Code of Virginia "Tuition Equity Provision" for in-state tuition eligibility, more information is provided in Situation Two on the Special Circumstances for Domicile page.
William & Mary complies with state and federal regulations for veteran and military students and dependents.
Domicile Review Appeal Process
The Code of Virginia and State Council guidelines include a “rebuttable” presumption that undergraduate applicants under age 24 are dependent on their parent/guardian and thereby take the domicile status of the parent/guardian providing support. To rebut this presumption, undergraduate applicants may supply written explanation and documentation of independence. Alternately, they may request, via a written explanation, that their domicile status be considered independently from that of a parent/guardian. The Code of Virginia provides for appeals. Learn more information on the domicile appeal process.
Change of Residency (Reclassification)
Residency is initially determined when a student applies for admission to W&M. If an independent student or a dependent student’s parents move to Virginia and fulfill the requirements of domicile, the student can petition for a change of status 12 months after the move. Independent students must demonstrate that they are not residing in Virginia primarily to attend W&M. To change residency status, submit an Application for Virginia In-state Tuition Privileges (pdf). For those students interested in applying under the Code of Virginia "Tuition Equity Provision" for in-state tuition eligibility, more information is provided in Situation Two on the Special Circumstances for Domicile page.
Credit hour surcharge
Undergraduate students who qualify for in-state tuition privileges must pay a surcharge (generally calculated at out-of-state tuition rates) for courses taken after completion of 125% of the credit hours required for the degree. For example, for a bachelors degree requiring 120 credit hours, this would mean that any credits taken beyond 150 (or 125% of 120) would be charged at the out-of-state rate. Certain exceptions apply, including AP/IB credits; see Section 23.1-509 of the Code of Virginia for more information.
Any questions about domicile eligibility should be directed to the Office of the University Registrar in Blow Memorial Hall at [[w|domicile]].