Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary


Meet your representatives, and learn how SA works! Student Assembly has an Executive Branch (Cabinet); a Legislative Branch (Senate); and a Judicial Branch (Review Board). Below are brief descriptions of how these branches work and links to more information.

Executive Branch
  • Appointed branch of SA, except for the President and Vice President
  • Secretaries head Departments that work to forward the initiatives and priorities of the Student Assembly
  • Each Department has one secretary and multiple undersecretaries, who are appointed by the President
  • Secretaries and undersecretaries do not have voting powers in the Student Assembly Senate
Legislative Branch (SA Senate)
  • Legislative branch of Student Assembly
  • Each undergraduate class has one president and four senators elected to serve as class representatives within the student government
  • Each Graduate School has representatives appointed to serve as the graduate representatives within the student government
  • Charged with representing students and passing legislation that benefits the student body
  • Each senator serves on one committee within the Senate
Judicial Branch
  • Judicial Branch of SA
  • Review Board members are appointed for 2 year terms
  • works to provide advisory opinions and hear cases regarding the SA code & constitution