Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary

W&M recognizes 98 student-athletes with Provost Award

  • Academic excellence
    Academic excellence  The William and Mary Athletics Department held its 10th annual Provost Award reception recently, where a record 98 student-athletes were recognized for having cumulative GPAs of better than 3.5. Pictured here is Athletics Director Terry Driscoll (left) with junior Matt Crisafi (football) and Provost Michael R. Halleran.  Tribe Athletics photo
Photo - of -

William & Mary's Athletics Department hosted its 10th annual Provost Award reception on March 14 to honor an exceptional group of 98 student-athletes in Kaplan Arena. 

The 98 student-athletes set a record total for the 10-year history of the event and saw at least one representative from all 23 of the Tribe's varsity programs. The Provost Award is earned based on achieving a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or above.

While the Provost Award recognizes the highest achievers, the entire athletics department (approximately 500 student-athletes) turned in a cumulative GPA of 3.06, with 19 of the 23 varsity sports showing GPAs of better than 3.0 (for the academic year ending is 2011).  It marked the fourth consecutive year the Tribe Athletics program either maintained, or improved, its total GPA.

"The Provost Award was created by student-athletes to recognize peers who have achieved outstanding academic success," noted Director of Athletics Terry Driscoll.  "I think that fact alone makes this a remarkable event.  Our student-athletes and coaches work extremely hard to excel, both competitively and in the classroom."

The event is sponsored by the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC) and was hosted by Provost Michael R. Halleran. The program was initiated by the SAAC, which is a group of student representatives from each of W&M's 23 intercollegiate teams.

"William & Mary is an academically elite institution and competes at the highest level of Division I Athletics," said Halleran during the event.  "For a student to be successful in either academics or or athletics is impressive; to succeed in both is truly remarkable and a cause for celebration."

The students who received the award are:

Baseball (4)
Ryan Brown
Ryan Hissey
Jason Inghram
Kevin Nutter

Men's Basketball (2)
Jonathan Goodloe
Thomas Schalk

Women's Basketball (1)
Jaclyn McKenna

Field Hockey (4)
Lindsey Buckheit
Taylor Hodge
Kelsea Hull
Catherine Johnson

Football (2)
Matthew Crisafi
Alexandre Tremblay

Men's Golf (3)
Michael Bekken
Spencer Kushner
Patrick Leisure

Women's Golf (4)
Elizabeth L. Birchall
Kaitlyn Hutcherson
Alessandra Liu
Anna McMullen

Men's Gymnastics (7)
Robert Courter
Blake Erickson
Landon Funiciello
Sam Patterson
Daniel  Potemski
Peter Ten Eyck
Kris Yeager

Women's Gymnastics (6)
Taylor James
Allison Marko
Jessica Pritchard
Stacia Ruse
Brittany Stover
Jennifer Ware

Women's Lacrosse (7)
Sarah Gunter
Allison Henry
Kelly Martins
Caitlin Murphy
Colleen Nofi
Ellen Shaffrey
Catherine Shaughnessy

Men's Soccer (4)
Ben Coffey
Ryan Flesch
Tyler Kent
William Smith

Women's Soccer (11)
Audrey Barry
Jacquelyn Blake-Hedges
Ashley Booth
Samantha Cordum
Emily Fredrikson
Barbara Platenberg
Christina Popps
Mallory Schaffer
Margaret Scott
Alyson Shaughnessy
Samantha Trail

Men's Swimming (5)
Austin Glass
Carter Head
Douglas Natal
Kendall Shaw
Andrew Strait

Women's Swimming (7)
Jennifer Bentley
Devin Henry
Megan Howard
Noelle Klockner
Greta Schneider
Sara Shaner

Men's Tennis (5)

Anton Andersson
John Banks
Scott Huang
William Juggins
Adrian Vodislav

Women's Tennis (4)
Anik Cepeda
Hope Johnson
Zara (Marlen) Mesgarzadeh
Sydney Smith

Men's Track and Field (2)
Mark Moran
Jackson Stone

Women's Track and Field (17)
Erica Amatori
Melissa DiVecchia
Nicole Dory
Leanna Eisenman
Sarah Garratt
Anna Gellert
Margaret Gutierrez
Felizitas Hammer
Olivia Harding
Casey Lardner
Sara Lasker
Avery Mattingly
Meghan McGovern
Meghan Mulroy
Emily Stites
Grace Thomas
Kayla Trantham

Women's Volleyball (3)
Elizabeth Brown
Olivia Jebb
Monika Stanciauskas