Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Hannah Bailey

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

beales_k

Beales, Kristen
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Current Research: Religion, History of Capitalism, Atlantic World,

Francis Bell

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World History; Race and Ethnicity; Cultural/Intellectual

Katie Boyce

Boyce, Kathleen
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Charles McGovern
email: klboyce@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States environmental history, industrialization, and racism

Amelia Butler

Butler, August M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Current Research: children & childhood studies, U.S. South, African American

cypher

Capobianco, Rebecca
Ph. D. Student.
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: rlcapobianco@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War memory, nationalism, public history

carbonell

Carbonell, Caylin
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Childhood and Youth, America in the World, History of Education

cypher

Conner, G. Jasper
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Mel Ely
Current Research: Black History, Labor History, Modern America

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the Book, Atlantic World

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Current Research: Capitalism, Economic, African American, Cultural/Intellectual

cypher

Gillan, Thomas J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Current Research: Early America, Intellectual and Cultural History, History of Knowledge and Scholarship, History of the Book, History of Medicine and the Body, History of Education, History of Gender and Sexuality, History of Manhood and Masculinity

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America, Gender & Families, Botany

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

Holly, Nathaniel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: nfholly@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Urban
website: https://wm.academia.edu/NathanielHolly

W&M Cypher

Jockel, Joan
Ph.D. Student
advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: British Atlantic, Gender and Sexuality, Race

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American, Gender and Sexuality

Ali Macdonald

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain and Europe, Atlantic World, Material Culture

marquis

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Twentieth Century U.S., Labor, MIgration, and Capitalism

mccullough

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Bodies, Women

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Atlantic, New England, History of Religion

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Indigenous Political Economy; Colonial Northeast; Anarchy Theory

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Current Research: Religion in Early America; American Catholicism; Francophone Communities in Early America

Pellissier

Pellissier, Marie
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: mapellissier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Women & Gender, Public History and the Digital Humanities

perry

Perry, Molly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America, social and political history

cypher

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Charles McGovern
Current Research: Nineteenth Century U.S., Cultural/Intellectual, Capitalism

Kaila Schwartz

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, religion

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, History of Capitalism, History of Science and Technology

slattery

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: Early North American History; Security History; Fortifications

cypher

Sneff, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: ejsneff@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Material Culture

snyder

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

cypher

Telling, Katy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kstelling@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Women/Family, Religion

tonat

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

ward

Ward, David L.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: Early American Republic, Continental Army, Medieval Europe

Emily Wells

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Republic, Education, Material Culture

cypher

Whirley, Megan
M.A. Student
Advisor: Chandos Brown
Current Research: History of Disabilities, Cultural/Intellectual History, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology