Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Hannah Bailey

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

Francis Bell

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World History; Race and Ethnicity; Cultural/Intellectual

Katie Boyce

Boyce, Kathleen
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Adrienne Petty
email: klboyce@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States Environmental History, History of Sports and Leisure, African American History

cypher

Capobianco Toy, Rebecca
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: rlcapobianco@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War memory, nationalism, public history

carbonell

Carbonell, Caylin
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Childhood and Youth, America in the World, History of Education

Jasper Conner

Conner, G. Jasper
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Mel Ely
Current Research: Black History, Labor History, Modern America

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the Book, Atlantic World

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Current Research: Capitalism, Economic, African American, Cultural/Intellectual

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America, Gender & Families, Botany

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

Holly, Nathaniel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: nfholly@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Urban
website: https://wm.academia.edu/NathanielHolly

W&M Cypher

Jockel, Joan
Ph.D. Student
advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: British Atlantic, Gender and Sexuality, Race

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American, Gender and Sexuality

Ali Macdonald

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain and Europe, Atlantic World, Material Culture

marquis

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Twentieth Century U.S., Labor, MIgration, and Capitalism

mccullough

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Bodies, Women

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Atlantic, New England, History of Religion

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Indigenous Political Economy; Colonial Northeast; Anarchy Theory

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Current Research: Religion in Early America; American Catholicism; Francophone Communities in Early America

Pellissier

Pellissier, Marie
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: mapellissier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Women & Gender, Public History and the Digital Humanities

perry

Perry, Molly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America, social and political history

James RIck

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Charles McGovern
Current Research: Nineteenth-Century US, Capitalism, Technology

Kaila Schwartz

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, New England

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, History of Capitalism, History of Science and Technology

slattery

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: Early North American History; Security History; Fortifications

cypher

Sneff, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: ejsneff@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Material Culture

snyder

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

cypher

Telling, Katy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kstelling@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Women/Family, Religion

tonat

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

Emily Wells

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Republic, Education, Material Culture

cypher

Whirley, Megan
M.A. Student
Advisor: Chandos Brown
Current Research: History of Disabilities, Cultural/Intellectual History, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

cypher

Zwier, Emily
M.A. Student
Advisor: Simon Middleton
email: erzwier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Celebrations/Demonstrations, Westward Travel