Latest about COVID-19 and W&M's Path Forward.

Info for... William & Mary
William & Mary W&M menu close William & Mary

Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Abrams

Abrams, Andrew
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Simon Middleton
Email: aabrams@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Political Economy, History of Science

bailey_h.jpg

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

bell_f.jpg

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Race and Ethnicity, Diaspora and Migration

boyce-k.jpg

Boyce, Kathleen (Katie)
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Adrienne Petty
email: klboyce@email.wm.edu
Current Research: U.S. History; History of Sports, Recreation, and Leisure; Environmental History

Brabble

Brabble, Jessica
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Melvin Ely
Current Research: American South; Popular Culture; Eugenics and Disability
Email: jmbrabble@email.wm.edu

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Children and Youth, America in the World, History of Education

Case

Case, Timothy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Melvin Ely
Email: tacase@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War/Emancipation Memory, African American History, Spatial History

chrysthansis_t.jpeg

Chrysanthis, Thalia
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Chris Grasso
Email: tchrysanthis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States, Legal, Women and Gender

conner_j.jpg

Conner, G. Jasper
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Melvin P. Ely
Current Research: Disability, African American, Modern US
Website: gjasperconner.com

donovan_s.jpg

Donovan, Sarah
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Josh Piker
email: sfdonovan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Frontier, British/Irish Atlantic World, Extralegal Violence

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Slavery, Book History

Estricher

Estreicher, Justin
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Andrew Fisher
Email: jtestreicher@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Cultural/Intellectual

goldberger_t.jpg

Goldberger, Tyler J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: tjgoldberger@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Historical Memory, Nationalism and National Identity, America in the World
Website: tylergoldberger.com

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hlgruntner@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Science, Labor

Hardin

Hardin, Jenna
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
Current Research: Early America and the British Atlantic World, Emotion, Material Culture

W&M Cypher

Jockel, Joan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: British Atlantic, Gender and Sexuality, Race

cypher

Kramer, Samantha
MA Student
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: sjkramer@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Medieval and Early Modern Europe, British Empire, Polar Exploration

Ali Macdonald

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Material Culture, Time & Temporality
Website: http://alexandrammacdonald.com/

Mac Marquis

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Twentieth Century U.S., Labor, MIgration, and Capitalism

mccullough

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Bodies, Women

Miralles Bianconi

Miralles Bianconi, Micaela
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Fabricio Prado
email: mmirallesbianc@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic History- Latin American History- Rio de la Plata

Jen Motter

Motter, Jennifer
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: jamotter@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Dutch Empire, Atlantic World, History of Knowledge

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Religion, Early Modern Atlantic, Early New England

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
email: meoxford@email.wm.edu
Current Research: American Religion; Atlantic world; Catholicism in the Americas

Pellissier

Pellissier, Marie
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mapellissier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Food History, Memory & Public History

pittman_k.jpg

Pittman, Kayla
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: kmpittman@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/ Indigenous Peoples, Woman & Gender, Race & Ethnicity

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: acpowell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Puritans, history of religion

rick_j.jpg

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: jjrick@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth-Century US, Capitalism, Technology

schwartz_k.jpg

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, religion

Slattery

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: saslattery@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American History, Security History, History of Democracy

Emily Sneff

Sneff, Emily
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: ejsneff@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Book History
website: emilysneff.com

telling_k.jpg

Telling, Katy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kstelling@email.wm.edu
Current Research: 18th/17th c. Women/Gender; Early American Religions; Colonial South

tonat-i.jpg

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

warren_e.jpg

Warren, Elliot
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: ejwarren@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic world, revolutions, early capitalism

wells-e.jpg

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Girlhood, Education, Material Culture

cypher

Werner, Kai
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Josh Piker
Current Research: Early America; Environmental; Indigenous Peoples

cypher

Wood, Jackson
MA Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
email: jewood@email.wm.edu