Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
cypher

Albers, Rebecca
M.A. Student
Advisor: Frederick Corney
Current Research: Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Historical Memory, Modern Europe

bailey_h.jpg

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

bell_f.jpg

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Race and Ethnicity, Diaspora and Migration

boyce-k.jpg

Boyce, Kathleen
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Adrienne Petty
email: klboyce@email.wm.edu
Current Research: American History; Sports, Recreation, and Leisure; Environmental History

Rebecca Toy

Capobianco Toy, Rebecca
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: rlcapobianco@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War memory, nationalism, public history

carbonell_c.jpg

Carbonell, Caylin
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality; Slavery and Unfree Labor
Website: https://twitter.com/caycarbs

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Children and Youth, America in the World, History of Education

conner_j.jpg

Conner, G. Jasper
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Melvin P. Ely
Current Research: African-American, Disability, Labor

donovan_s.jpg

Donovan, Sarah
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: sfdonovan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Frontier, Extralegal Violence

cypher

Dudeck, Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: 18th and 19th Century Political, Intellectual, and Military History

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the Book, Atlantic World

cypher

Estreicher, Justin
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Andrew Fisher
Current Research: United States, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Cultural/Intellectual

gibson_aw.jpg

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Current Research: Capitalism, Economic, African American, Cultural/Intellectual

goldberger_t.jpg

Goldberger, Tyler J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Betsy Konefal
email: tjgoldberger@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Latin America and the Caribbean, Historical Memory, Comparative and Transnational

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hlgruntner@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, History of Science, Intellectual History

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

hershberger_j.jpg

Hershberger, Jenna
M.A. Student
Advisor: Chris Grasso
email: jkhershberger@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World Material Culture, Fashion History

cypher

Herson-Roeser, Bennett
M.A. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Current Research: Early America, Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Legal History

W&M Cypher

Jockel, Joan
Ph.D. Student
advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: British Atlantic, Gender and Sexuality, Race

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American, Gender and Sexuality

Ali Macdonald

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain and Europe, Atlantic World, Material Culture

Mac Marquis

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Twentieth Century U.S., Labor, MIgration, and Capitalism

mccullough

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Bodies, Women

Jen Motter

Motter, Jennifer
M.A. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Dutch Studies, Atlantic World

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Religion, Early Modern Atlantic, Early New England

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Indigenous Political Economy; Early American Exploration & Contact; Anarchy Theory

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
email: meoxford@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion in Early America; American Catholicism; Francophone Communities in Early America

pellissier_m.jpg

Pellissier, Marie
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mapellissier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Women & Gender, Public History and the Digital Humanities

perry

Perry, Molly
Ph.D.
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire

pittman_k.jpg

Pittman, Kayla
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: kmpittman@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/ Indigenous Peoples, Woman & Gender, Race & Ethnicity

popolla_b.jpg

Popolla, Brielle
M.A. Student
Advisor: Mel Ely
Current Research: Childhood and Education, Daily life, 19th Century

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: Early America, social and political history

rick_j.jpg

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Current Research: Nineteenth-Century US, Capitalism, Technology

schwartz_k.jpg

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: early America, children and the family, religion

sease_k.jpg

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Adrienne Petty
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, History of Capitalism, History of Science and Technology

slattery_s.jpg

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: Early North American History; Security History; Fortifications

Emily Sneff

Sneff, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: ejsneff@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Material Culture, History of the Book

snyder_k.jpg

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

telling_k.jpg

Telling, Katy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kstelling@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women/Gender, American Religion, U.S. South

tonat-i.jpg

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

warren_e.jpg

Warren, Elliot
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: ejwarren@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic world, revolutions, early capitalism

wells-e.jpg

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Education, Material Culture, Women, Gender, and Sexuality