William & Mary sign

Latest about COVID-19 and W&M's Path Forward.

Info for... William & Mary
William & Mary W&M menu close William & Mary

Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
bailey_h.jpg

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

bell_f.jpg

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Race and Ethnicity, Diaspora and Migration

boyce-k.jpg

Boyce, Kathleen
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Adrienne Petty
email: klboyce@email.wm.edu
Current Research: American History; Sports, Recreation, and Leisure; Environmental History

Rebecca Toy

Capobianco Toy, Rebecca
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Hannah Rosen
email: rlcapobianco@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War memory, Reconstruction, public history
Website: https://civildiscourse.squarespace.com/blog?author=5ca6eb0515fcc0b503032d53&p?author=5ca6eb0515fcc0b503032d53&p

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Children and Youth, America in the World, History of Education

Case

Case, Timothy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Melvin Ely
Email: tacase@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War Memory Spatial History Religion in America

Chrysanthis

Chrysanthis, Thalia
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Chris Grasso
Current Research: United States, Legal, Cultural

conner_j.jpg

Conner, G. Jasper
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Mel Ely
Current Research: African-American, Disability, Labor

donovan_s.jpg

Donovan, Sarah
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: sfdonovan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Frontier, Extralegal Violence

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the Book, Atlantic World

Estricher

Estreicher, Justin
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Andrew Fisher
Email: jtestreicher@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Cultural/Intellectual

gibson_aw.jpg

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Current Research: Capitalism, Economic, African American, Cultural/Intellectual

goldberger_t.jpg

Goldberger, Tyler J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Hiroshi Kitamura
email: tjgoldberger@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Historical Memory, Nationalism and National Identity, America in the World

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hlgruntner@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, History of Science, Intellectual History

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Carol Sheriff
Email: mtguerci@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America; Slavery and Abolition; Memory

W&M Cypher

Jockel, Joan
Ph.D. Student
advisor: Karin Wulf
Current Research: British Atlantic, Gender and Sexuality, Race

Ali Macdonald

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain and Europe, Atlantic World, Material Culture

Mac Marquis

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Twentieth Century U.S., Labor, MIgration, and Capitalism

mccullough

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Bodies, Women

Jen Motter

Motter, Jennifer
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: jamotter@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Dutch Empire, Atlantic World, History of Knowledge

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Religion, Early Modern Atlantic, Early New England

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter Jakob
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Indigenous Political Economy; Early American Exploration & Contact; Comparative Philology

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
email: meoxford@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion in Early America; American Catholicism; Francophone Communities in Early America

pellissier_m.jpg

Pellissier, Marie
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: mapellissier@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America; Women & Gender; Public History, Memory and the Digital Humanities

pittman_k.jpg

Pittman, Kayla
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: kmpittman@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/ Indigenous Peoples, Woman & Gender, Race & Ethnicity

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: acpowell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Puritans, history of religion

rick_j.jpg

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: jjrick@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth-Century US, Capitalism, Technology

schwartz_k.jpg

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, religion

sease_k.jpg

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Adrienne Petty
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, History of Capitalism, History of Science and Technology

cypher

Simmons, Shea
M.A. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: sksimmons@email.wm.edu

slattery_s.jpg

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Current Research: Early North American History; Urban History; Fortifications

Emily Sneff

Sneff, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: ejsneff@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Material Culture, History of the Book

snyder_k.jpg

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

telling_k.jpg

Telling, Katy
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Karin Wulf
email: kstelling@email.wm.edu
Current Research: 18th/17th c. Women/Gender; Early American Religions; Colonial South

tonat-i.jpg

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American / Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

warren_e.jpg

Warren, Elliot
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: ejwarren@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic world, revolutions, early capitalism

wells-e.jpg

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Education; Material Culture; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cypher

Werner, Kai
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Josh Piker
Current Research: Borderlands, Native American, American West