Dr. Betty Orick Sapp Memorial Award

This award is named in honor of Dr. Betty Sapp (W&M Physics BS ’64, MS ’66, PhD ‘74), and provides funds for an annual award for Physics graduate student travel, either to conduct original research or present results of their research at conferences or workshops.

Faculty advisors can nominate their graduate students for this award. Priority will be given to students without other travel funds available, and the criteria also include a) the student's research performance, based on annual reviews, b) the impact on the student's research and c) the profile/importance of the conference or workshop.

Past Recipients:

2014:   Charles Fancher and Austin Ziltz
2013:   Martin Rodriguez-Vega and David Johnston