Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary

Retention, Promotion, and Tenure Committee

The Arts & Sciences Advisory Committee on Retention, Promotion, and Tenure (RPT) consists of six tenured faculty members selected for terms of three years, with two terms expiring annually and representation from Areas I, II, and III. The Committee elects a chair or co-chairs from among its members annually.

The Committee reviews all recommendations made by departments of Arts & Sciences concerning the retention, promotion, and tenure of tenure-eligible faculty. The Committee's written reports are forwarded to the Dean of the Faculty and become part of the documentation available to both the candidate and senior administration of the College.