Latest about COVID-19 and W&M's Path Forward.

Info for... William & Mary
William & Mary W&M menu close William & Mary

2014 Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence

In 2011, the Dean's Office launched the Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence to honor faculty members in Arts & Sciences who devote special efforts to teaching and inspiring their students through lectures, seminars, laboratories, independent studies, and mentoring. Each award carries a cash amount applied as either a one-time salary stipend or as research support for the following year. At the April 2014 meeting of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, three faculty members were honored:

Professor Deborah C. Bebout

Deborah C. Bebout

Professor of Chemistry


Associate Professor Thomas J. Linneman

Thomas J. Linneman
Professor of  Sociology

Associate Professor Paul Mapp

Paul Mapp
Professor of History


Nominations for the award come initially from the Student Assembly's Undergraduate Council and the A&S Graduate Student Association. Candidates are evaluated on the basis of teaching quality, innovation, and demonstrated commitment to student learning. Awardees are chosen in order to balance academic rank, disciplinary area, graduate and undergraduate teaching, and tenure and non-tenure eligible status, including adjuncts.