Info for... William & Mary
William & Mary W&M menu close William & Mary

2011 Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence

In 2011, the Dean's Office launches the Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence to honor faculty members in Arts & Sciences who devote special efforts to teaching and inspiring their students through lectures, seminars, laboratories, independent studies, and mentoring. Each award carries a cash amount applied as either a one-time salary stipend or as research support for the following year. At the April 5, 2011, meeting of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, three faculty members were honored with the inaugural awards:

Professor Allison

Lizabeth A. Allison
Margaret  L. Hamilton
Professor of Biology

Professor Smith

Dennis A. Smith 
Visiting Assistant Professor
of Government,
International Relations

Professor Whittenburg

James P. Whittenburg
William E. Pullen
Professor of History

Nominations for the award come initially from the Student Assembly's Undergraduate Council and the A&S Graduate Student Association. Candidates are evaluated on the basis of teaching quality, innovation, and demonstrated commitment to student learning. Over a number of years, awardees will be chosen in order to balance academic rank, disciplinary area, graduate and undergraduate teaching, and tenure and non-tenure eligible status, including adjuncts.