Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary

Dr. Kelebogile Zvobgo Wins Award for Her Dedication to Undergraduate Research and Mentorship

ijl_collage_06142022Dr. Kelebogile Zvobgo, an Assistant Professor of Government at William & Mary and the founder and director of the International Justice Lab (IJL), has won the 2022 Craig L. Brians Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research and Mentorship from the American Political Science Association. This award is given to faculty who demonstrate a commitment to cultivating undergraduate research and mentoring undergraduates to pursue graduate school or a career in public policy. The selection committee cited her work with the International Justice Lab, publications with undergraduate students, and her pedagogy research as highlights of her nomination and the reasons for choosing her as this year’s recipient.

Dr. Zvobgo was honored to be named the recipient and said:

“I was very moved by the award committee’s generous assessment of my mentorship of undergraduate students. The International Justice Lab Fellows, especially, make my job ever so fulfilling and enjoyable. I look forward to receiving the Brians Award at APSA in Montréal in September, as I start my second year as a faculty member in the Government Department and my fourth year as director of IJL.”

Dr. Mike Tierney, the George & Mary Hylton Professor of International Relations and the Director of the Global Research Institute, nominated Dr. Zvobgo. Dr. Tierney wrote to the committee that the international relations field will benefit in the short run from her work because of the new knowledge she and her students create at IJL and the articles they will publish in journals. In the long run, Dr. Zvobgo “helps students achieve their research potential so that they can become our graduate students, collaborators, and faculty colleagues.”

The Department of Government congratulates Dr. Zvobgo on her achievement. Her dedication to undergraduate research and mentorship makes her an exceptional professor.