Past Writers in Residence

Since 1971, the English Department has hosted a variety of accomplished artists through its Writer in Residence Program. Below we've provided links to more information about these writers, and how they have refreshed and contributed to the life of the department.

2015-2016, Nicole Georges, author, graphic memoirist [website]

2012-13, Rosalind Brackenbury, author, poet [website]

2011-12,  Joshua Poteat, poet [website

2010-11, Kirsten Holmstedt, author 

 2009-10, Blake Bailey, biographer and essayist [website]

2008-09, Tom De Haven, author, editor, journalist [website]

2007-08, David L. Robbins, novelist [website]

2006-07, Rosalind Brackenbury, author, poet

2005-06, Ian Caldwell, novelist [website

 2004-05, Henri Cole, poet [website

 2003-04, Carolivia Herron, author [website]

 2002-03, Reetika Vazirani, poet [website

 2001-02, Terese Svoboda, novelist [website

Earlier Writers in Residence: 

  • Catherine Bowman
  • Sam Kashner
  • Christopher Bram
  • Thomas Disch
  • Nancy Schoenberger
  • Marita Golden
  • Mary Hazzard
  • Wallace Terry
  • Hugh Seidman
  • Mary Carter
  • Cornelius Eady
  • Amy Clampitt
  • Diane Ackerman
  • Avram Davidson
  • Michael Mott
  • Bobby Jack Nelson
  • Joe Hone
  • Peter Klappert
  • Herbert Burkholz
  • Stephen Marlowe