Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary

Scholarships and Awards

Through the generosity of many donors, the Department of Theatre & Performance provides a number of scholarships and awards each year. Applications are accepted from students in the Spring semester. All applications must be submitted ONLINE through the links below.

APPLICATION DEADLINE: April 6, 2024          


Bat Boy PerformanceLinda Lavin Theatre Research Award

Established in 2011. This award is given annually to assist students and their faculty mentors to cover costs associated with pursuing a specified research project that focuses on scholarly and/or creative activity in theatre or dance. The award will provide support for learning expenses such as travel, workshop fees, or summer scholarships.

Linda Lavin Award Application Form
Linda Lavin Award Guidelines
Submit application for Linda Lavin Award
William & Mary Theatre Scholarship

Established in October 1990. This fund is used to provide financial assistance to deserving students who have evidenced an interest in Theatre, as determined by the Theatre faculty. Applicants must have shown outstanding dedication to the William & Mary Theatre and special ability in their theatre work.  Make a Contribution 

WMT Scholarship Application Form
WMT Scholarship Guidelines 

Submit application for WMT Scholarship
Martin Jurow Theatre Arts Award

Established in 1981. The award was established to honor Martin Jurow '32, recognizing his distinguished career as a film producer. The award is made to encourage a student who has demonstrated theatrical ability and promise to continue the pursuit of a career in the theatre. The grant is made annually to a William & Mary student pursuing summer employment, usually in the form of an internship with a prominent regional, repertory, or summer stock theatre.

Jurow Award Guidelines
Submit application for Jurow Award
Louis E. Catron Scholarship Fund for Artistic Development

Established in 2013 and administered through the Charles Center. The fund was created by Dr. Louis E. Catron, Professor of Theatre Emeritus, who taught courses and directed productions in Theatre at William & Mary from 1966 to 2002. These scholarships support the artistic growth of talented students in the creative and performing arts through off-campus educational experiences.

Lang Legacy Award

This fund is used to provide scholarship support for academically distinguished students with financial need in the Department of Theatre & Performance.

Lang Legacy Award Application Form
Lang Legacy Award Guidelines
Submit application for Lang Legacy Award
Roby-Sherman Dance Scholarship 

The Roby-Sherman Scholarship Fund was established in May 2000 using funds derived from donations over several years. The Roby-Sherman Scholarship was awarded for the first time in April 2005. The scholarship is intended to assist worthy students for whom financial support will be a significant factor in their continued education in dance.

Roby-Sherman Scholarship Application Form
Roby-Sherman Scholarship Guidelines
Submit application for Roby-Sherman Scholarship 
Albert E. Haak Memorial Award

Established in 1978. The Albert E. Haak Memorial Award was established through contributions made by the friends of Al Haak, Technical Director of the William & Mary Theatre from 1947 until his retirement in 1977. This award is given annually to the undergraduate student who has willingly and cooperatively worked backstage on productions of the William & Mary Theatre; who has developed an interest in stagecraft; and who has demonstrated an increasing proficiency in technical ability and achievement.

John H. Reese Theatre Award

Established in 2020. This award was established to provide support for rising junior and senior theatre majors who have made outstanding artistic contributions to the Theatre program at W&M, and who have a minimum overall GPA of 2.5. (Limited to $1000 for one recipient annually).

W&M Theatre Award

This award is given to recognize a highly accomplished student who has exhibited talent and consistent devotion to the William & Mary Theatre.

Special Recognition Award

This award is given to recognize student leaders who have made significant contributions to the Theatre and Dance programs.

Additional Funds
  • James R. Falls Memorial Award, established in 1995: This fund supports production costs for senior directors.
  • Althea Hunt and Howard Scammon Visiting Artist-in-Residence in Theatre Endowment, established in 1989: This fund has supported the residencies of Ying Ruocheng, Dudley Cocke, Tamara Coffey, Lois Weaver, Peppe Ostensson, Maria Winton, and Gary Green.
  • Class of 1939 Artist-in-Residence: This fund rotates between the departments of Theatre & Performance, Music, Fine Art, and English.  It has supported residencies with Michael Rupert, David Crank, Marvin McAllister, Linda Lavin, Elizabeth Polkovitz, and Parisa Khobdeh/Paul Taylor Dance Company