Awards and Scholarships

... for Students and Faculty

Many awards are granted by Alpha Chapter each year to students and faculty:

Ann Callahan Chappell Award
Award to the most outstanding PBK initiate in the fall (listed by graduating class)

     2000  Susan Bacon
     2001  K. Elizabeth Colyer
     2002  Hanley Chiang
     2003  Vijay Dondeti
     2004  Claire Wimbush
     2005  Steven M. Lewis
     2006  Laura Elizabeth Smith
     2007  Lauren Nicole Merrill
     2008  Lindsay Gail Gibson
     2009  Kiara Allman
     2010  Irene Morrison-Moncure
     2011  Adam Lerner
     2012  Kiara Savage
     2013 Ashleigh Kemp Ramos
     2014  Alison Roberts
     2015  Isaac Gregory Alty
     2016  Morgan Sedhev

Lifelong Learner Award
To a community member or organization that demonstrates commitment to the pursuit of knowledge

     2014  The Christopher Wren Association, and its founders R. Wayne & Ruth Kernodle
     2015  Williamsburg Bird Club, and independent scholar and art historian Caroline Williams
     2016  Literacy for Life
     2017  Williamsburg Regional Library
     2018  Child Development Recources, and legal scholar and art historian Michèle K. Spike

  • Virginia Northcott Brinkley Award
    Award for excellence in writing to a spring PBK initiate (listed by graduating class)
    2005  Allison Jack
    2006  Jessica Miller
    2007  Matthew Sherrill
    2008  Kathryn Lee Swanson
    2009  James Curtis Staples
  • Departmental Named Scholarship
    One student award of $2000 to the outstanding senior major in a specific department
    (rotates among departments and is named after an emeritus faculty member known for dedication to teaching)

    2017-2018  The WIlliam Hausman Scholarship in Economics awarded to Meredith Passero
    2016-2017  The David Aday Sociology awarded to Nairuti Shastry
    2015-2016  The Richard Palmer Scholarship in Theatre awarded to Keaton Hillman
    2014-2015  The Norman J. Fashing Scholarship in Biology awarded to Salma Abdel-Raheem
    2013-2014  The Jacquelyn Y. McLendon Scholarship in English awarded to Miles Seth Drawdy
    2012-2013  The Neill P. Watson Scholarship in Psychology awarded to Susan Morgan Johns
    2011-2012  The Clyde A. Haulman Scholarship in Economics awarded to Allison Lee Oldham
    2010-2011  The Robert A. Orwoll Scholarship in Chemistry awarded to Elizabeth Pylant Bransford Allen
    2009-2010  The Thomas Heacox Scholarship in English awarded to Emily Catherine Fuhrman
    2008-2009  The Jim McCord Scholarship in History awarded to Salar Michael Mohandesi
    2007-2008  The Alan Ward Scholarship in Government awarded to Jennifer Ashley Hoover
    2006-2007  The Pichard Prosl Scholarship in Computer Science awarded to Justin Manweiler
    2005-2006  The Miles L. Chappell Scholarship in Art and Art History awarded to John Charleton Hawley
    2004-2005  The John McKnight Scholarship in Physics awarded to Dimitar M. Vlassarev
    2003-2004  The J. Ward Jones Scholarship in Classical Studies awarded to Emily Tatum
    2002-2003  The James C. Livingston Scholarship in Religion awarded to David Raphael Hildebrand
    2001-2002  The Gerald H. Johnson Award in Geology awarded to Matthew Adam Pasek
    2000-2001  The Margaret Hamilton Award in Government awarded to Christina Lynne Hall
    1999-2000  The Charlotte P. Mangum Award in Biology awarded to Kristina Marie Hoke
    1998-1999  The Frank B. McDonald Award in Philosophy awarded to Erin Elizabeth Bradham
    1997-1998  The Ludwell H. Johnson Award in History awarded to Kathleen Marie Donohue, Anne Yates Marks, Matthew Wayne Shepherd
    1996-1997  Alfred R. Armstrong Award in Chemistry Dan Kopp, Kristin Joslyn (1997), David Wilmouth (1996)

  • Ludwell Johnson Scholarships
    Four student awards of $1200 each to PBK or non-PBK students (3.0 GPA minimum)
  • William Lamb Scholarship
    A $2000 student award to a PBK initiate
  • Jane Williams Mahoney Scholarships
    Four student awards of $1675 each (3.0 GPA minimum)
  • Muriel M. Jennings Scholarships
    Eight student awards at $2130 and one at $2,500
  • The John D. Rockefeller Faculty Awards
    For the Advancement of Scholarship, a Spring-term award to an outstanding younger scholar

         2000  Yana Rodgers, Economics
         2001  Anne Rasmussen, Music
         2002  Carey Bagdassarian, Chemistry
         2003  Lisa Anderson, Economics
         2004  Chuck Bailey, Geology
         2005  Dan Cristol, Biology
         2006  Evgenia Smirni, Computer Science
         2007  Ronald Schechter, History
         2008  Junping Shi, Mathematics
         2009  John Swaddle, Biology
         2010  Graham Ousey, Sociology
         2011  Gregory Smith, Applied Science
         2012  Robert Leventhal, Modern Languages
         2013  Josh Burk, Psychology
         2014  Konstantinos Orginos, Physics
         2015  Erin Minear, English
         2016  Todd Thrash, Psychology
         2017  Molly Swetnam-Burland, Classical Studies
         2018  Nicole Santiago, Art & Art History

  • For Excellence in Teaching, a Spring-term award to an outstanding teacher on the College faculty
    2000  Tom Heacox, English
    2001  Jack Martin, English
    2002  Paul Heideman, Biology
    2003  Chi-Kwong Li, Mathematics
    2004  Brent Owens, Geology
    2005  Kate Slevin, Sociology
    2006  Phillip Daileader, History
    2007  Greg Hancock, Geology
    2008  Deborah Morse, English
    2009  Silvia Tandeciarz, Modern Languages
    2010  Paul Mapp, History
    2011  John Griffin, Biology
    2012  Barbara Watkinson, Art & Art History

    2013  Yanfang Tang, Modern Languages
    2014  Richard Palmer, Theatre
    2015  Gail McEachron, Education
    2016  Elena Prokhorova, Modern Languages

    2017  Robert Trent Vinson, History
    2018  Jennifer Putzi, English and Women & Gender Studies

Anyone interested in further information or in supporting these efforts should contact

     Professor Peter McHenry
     Treasurer, Alpha Chapter of PBK
     Department of Economics
     College of William and Mary, Box 8795
     Williamsburg VA 23187-8795