Close menu Resources for... William & Mary
W&M menu close William & Mary

Lucia Sebastian receives 2010 DeMary Award

  • Lucia Sebastian
    Lucia Sebastian  The W&M alumna and chief academic officer for York County Schools received the 2010 Jo Lynne DeMary Award during a breakfast at the College Thursday, Feb. 18.  Courtesy photo
Photo - of -
A William & Mary alumna who now serves as chief academic officer for York County Schools was honored by the College's School of Education last week for her contributions to education.

Lucia Villa Sebastian M.A.Ed. '87 Ed.S. '92 Ed.D. ‘96 received the 2010 Jo Lynne DeMary Award during a breakfast at the College Thursday, Feb. 18. The DeMary Award, started in 2001 and named for the William & Mary alumna and former state superintendent of schools, recognizes individuals for distinguished leadership and significant professional contributions in the field of education.

Approximately 50 attendees from around the state -- including university professors, superintendents and former superintendents, principals, assistant principals, and teachers -- attended the event to celebrate the tremendous impact that Sebastian has had on the "tall and the small" in Virginia education.

As York County's chief academic officer, Sebastian is responsible for all of the county's instructional program, including pre-K through grade 12 and adult education. Along with her current work for York County, Sebastian also serves as an assistant adjunct professor at William & Mary.

Previously in her career, Sebastian has served Virginia schools in a variety of roles, including that of principal, teacher and administrator. Some of her past positions include director of curriculum & student achievement for York County, principal of James River Elementary School in Williamsburg, and assistant principal for Bethel Manor Elementary School and Dare Elementary School in York County.

Sebastian received her undergraduate degree from East Carolina University. She earned her master's degree in education from William & Mary in 1986 and her doctorate of educational administration from the College in 1996. She has received numerous accolades for her work throughout her career, including being named National Distinguished Principal of the Year in 2002.

Previous De Mary Award winners include former superintendent of public instruction for Virginia Billy K. Cannaday, Jr., State Sen. Tommy Norment (R-3rd) and former superintendant of schools for New Kent County J. Roy Geiger II.