William & Mary

W&M a top producer of Fulbright students

The College of William and Mary is one of the top producers of U.S. Fulbright Students in the country, according to data released by the Chronicle of Higher Education Oct. 23.

With 10 awards for 2011-12, the College is one of 42 institutions nationwide and the only Virginia university included on the Chronicle’s list of top-producing research institutions.

badgeAlthough the list is not considered a ranking, William & Mary placed around 31st among the research institutions listed. Others on the list include the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor at the top with 29 awards, Boston College with 21 awards, Brown University with 14, and Duke University with nine awards.

According to Lisa Grimes, director of fellowships and undergraduate research for the Charles Center, 57 William & Mary students and alumni applied for the scholarships, and 12 were selected for either full Fulbright grants or Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) grants. However, two declined the offer.

“We’re thrilled not only because we have such a strong group of Fulbrighters abroad now but also because we have just submitted another 47 applications from students and recent alumni for the current award cycle,” said Grimes.

This year’s William & Mary awardees and their Fulbright destinations include: Christopher Adams ’09 (China), Aaron Branch ’11 (ETA South Korea), Paolo Busante ’11 (ETA Portugal), Laura Evers ‘11 (ETA Romania), Amanda Goodman ’09 (ETA Norway), Meredith Howard ‘11 (ETA South Korea), Monica LoBue ‘11 (ETA Germany), John Pothen ‘11 (India), Michael Tsidulko ‘11 (ETA Bulgaria), and Julia Zamecnik ‘11 (ETA Turkey).

Pothen, Howard, and Evers are blogging about their experiences. Their blogs may be found at http://meredithsk-life.blogspot.com/, http://jpothen4atjamkhed.wordpress.com/ and http://icameisawitraveled.xanga.com/.

Almost 1,700 American students, artists and young professionals in more than 100 different fields of study were offered Fulbright Program grants to study, teach English, and conduct research in over 140 countries throughout the world beginning this fall. Students receiving awards for this academic year applied through 600 colleges or universities.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 310,000 participants—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.  In the past 65 years, more than 44,000 students from the United States have benefited from the Fulbright experience.     

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.  The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the United States Congress to the Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support.  The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, composed of 12 educational and public leaders appointed by the President of the United States, formulates policies for the administration of the Fulbright Program, establishes criteria for the selection of candidates and approves candidates nominated for awards.           

In the United States, the Institute of International Education administers and coordinates the activities relevant to the U.S. Student Program on behalf of the U.S. Department of State, including conducting an annual competition for the scholarships.      

The Fulbright Program also awards grants to American teachers and faculty to conduct research and teach overseas.  In addition, some 3,850 new foreign Fulbright students and scholars come to the United States annually to study for graduate degrees, conduct research and teach at U.S. universities, colleges and secondary schools.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit http://fulbright.state.gov.