In the News

Reminders of when our campus was an armed camp

Excavations of a small plot south of the Brafferton Kitchen crowded with features dating to the occupation of campus by Union troops from 1862-1865
William & Mary News, August 2012

Archaeologists discover brick foundations near Wren Building

A partially unearthed foundation looks to be the remains of "a fairly massive outbuilding," a structure that was almost certainly associated with slaves who worked at William & Mary in the early 18th century
William & Mary News, August 2011

VDOT: Bridge replacement yields archaeological site

Data recovery of Middle Woodland shell midden site
VDOT video article, April 2011

Utilities project preserves trees, improves sustainability

WMCAR effort ensures sensitive treatment of archaeological resources during major utility improvement project on campus
William & Mary News, January 2011

Bone fragments represent unprecedented discovery

Formal dog burials dating to colonial period discovered on William & Mary campus
William & Mary News, September 2010