Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Laura Ansley.jpg

Ansley, Laura M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Leisa D. Meyer
email: lmansley@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women's and gender history, history of sexuality, history of childhood
Website: https://wm.academia.edu/LauraAnsley

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: hebailey@email.wm.edu
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

beales_k

Beales, Kristen
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: kebeales@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion, History of Capitalism, Atlantic World,

cypher

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Cultural/Intellectual, Race and Ethnicity

bell_m

Bell, Madalyn
M.A. Student
Advisor: Advisor
email: mrbell01@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality; Twentieth Century U.S. History

Amelia Butler

Butler, August M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Email: ambutl@email.wm.edu
Current Research: children & childhood studies, 20th century, US South

carbonell

Carbonell, Caylin
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: cecarbonell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
Email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Children and Childhood, History of Education

cypher

Cook, Elizabeth
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: James P. Whittenburg
Email: ecook@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Material Culture, Early American History, Architectural History

Cara Elliott.jpg

Elliott, Cara
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Leisa Meyer
Email: caelliott@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Race and Gender, History of Children and Childhood, Twentieth-Century US History,

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the book, early modern England, trans-Atlantic history

cypher

Fenton, Connor
M.A. Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
email: cfenton@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain

finley_a.jpg

Finley, Alexandra
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Current Research: Slavery; women, gender, and sexuality; history of capitalism
website: https://wm.academia.edu/AlexandraFinley

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Scott Nelson
email: awgibson@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Economic History and Capitalism, African American, Transnational, Cultural/Intellectual

Gillan, Thomas J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: tjgillan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Intellectual and Cultural History, History of Knowledge and Scholarship, History of the Book, History of Medicine and the Body, History of Education, History of Gender and Sexuality, History of Manhood and Masculinity
Website: {{http://thomasjgillan.wordpress.com/}}

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
M.A. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hlgruntner@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, frontier, public history

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Email: mtguerci@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

Holly, Nathaniel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: nfholly@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Urban
website: https://wm.academia.edu/NathanielHolly

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American, Gender and Sexuality, Early America

cypher

Kuckuck, Jeffrey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: [[e|jwkuck]]
Current Research: New England political ideology and political culture in the wake of the Glorious Revolution.

Kyrova_l

Kyrova , Lucie
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. Andy Fisher
Email: lxkyro@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Transnational Social Movements, Cold War

cypher

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Labor History, Mexican Revolution, and Capitalism

cypher

McClure, John
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Melvin Ely
Current Research: American South, Civil War/Reconstruction, African American

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American, Women, Native American

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Seventeenth Century, British Atlantic, History of Religion

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Email: pbnicholas@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Northeastern Native/Colonial Exchange Networks, History of Economic Thought, Indigenous Political Economy

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: meoxford@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion in the Early American Republic; The French Atlantic

perry

Perry, Molly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: molly.perry@cnu.edu
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire
Webpage: wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/mfperry/homepage

Kristina Poznan.jpg

Poznan, Kristina E.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Email: kepoznan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: U.S. immigration and ethnic history, America and the World, Central & Eastern European nationalism

cypher

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Charles McGovern
email: jjrick@email.wm.edu
Current Research: 19th Century U.S., Intellectual/Cultural, and Capitalism.

schmitt_c

Schmitt, Casey Sylvia
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: csschmitt@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Early America, Latin America and the Caribbean
website: https://earlyamericanists.com

cypher

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, religion

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, Material Culture, History of Virginia, History of Science and Technology

slattery

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: saslattery@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early North American History; Security History; Fortifications

snyder

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: kesnyder01@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

Sarah Thomas.jpg

Thomas, Sarah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. James Whittenburg
Email: setho2@email.wm.edu
Current Research: material culture, vernacular architectural history, early Southern backcountry

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

Vickory, A. Stephen
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Joshua Piker
Email: asvickory@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Southeastern Native American history

ward

Ward, David L.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: dlward@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Republic, Continental Army, Medieval Europe
Website: {{https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-ward-4451a722}}

cypher

Welch, Laurence
M.A. Student
Email: lrwelch@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Transfer of ideas, systems, and philosophies of education from Europe to America in the eighteenth century.

cypher

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Carol Sheriff
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Material Culture, Early American History, Women's History

cypher

Wells, S. Spencer
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: sswells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Virginia

wheelock

Wheelock, Jackie
M.A. Student
Advisor: Dr. Betsy Konefal
email: jawheelock@email.wm.edu
Current Research: America and the World, U.S. Diplomatic History, International Relations

Holly Stevens.jpg

White, Holly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hnstevens@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Childhood and Youth; Gender and Family in Early America

cypher

Wood, Elizabeth
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Women and African American communities in the nineteenth-century South

cypher

Zieger, Jason Peter
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: [[e|jpzieg]]
Current Research: The development of the American industry in purportedly "Indian" patent medicines during the first decades of the nineteenth century.