Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Hannah Bailey

Bailey, Hannah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: hebailey@email.wm.edu
Current Research: French Atlantic, Comparative and Transnational, Race and Ethnicity

beales_k

Beales, Kristen
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: kebeales@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion, History of Capitalism, Atlantic World,

cypher

Bell, Frances
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
email: frbell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World History; Race and Ethnicity; Cultural/Intellectual

bell_m

Bell, Madalyn
M.A. Student
Advisor: Advisor
email: mrbell01@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality; Twentieth Century U.S. History

Amelia Butler

Butler, August M.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Email: ambutl@email.wm.edu
Current Research: children & childhood studies, 20th century, US South

cypher

Capobianco, Rebecca
Ph. D. Student.
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
Email: rlcapobianco@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Civil War memory, nationalism, public history

carbonell

Carbonell, Caylin
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: cecarbonell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cartwright

Cartwright, Katherine
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
Email: kscartwright@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Children and Childhood, History of Education

Emanuel, Phillip
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: plemanuel@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of the book, early modern England, trans-Atlantic history

Gibson, Amanda W.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Scott Nelson
email: awgibson@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Economic History and Capitalism, African American, Transnational, Cultural/Intellectual

Gillan, Thomas J.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: tjgillan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Intellectual and Cultural History, History of Knowledge and Scholarship, History of the Book, History of Medicine and the Body, History of Education, History of Gender and Sexuality, History of Manhood and Masculinity
Website: {{http://thomasjgillan.wordpress.com/}}

gruntner.

Gruntner, Holly
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hlgruntner@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, frontier, public history

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Email: mtguerci@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

Holly, Nathaniel
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: nfholly@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Urban
website: https://wm.academia.edu/NathanielHolly

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American, Gender and Sexuality, Early America

cypher

Lowe, J. Franklin
M.A. Student
Advisor: Hannah Rosen
Email: jflowe@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Southern History, Women's History

cypher

Macdonald, Alexandra M.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Nicholas S. Popper
Email: ammacdonald@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Britain and Europe, Atlantic World, Material Culture

cypher

Marquis, David Mac
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
email: djmarquis@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Labor History, Mexican Revolution, and Capitalism

cypher

McClure, John
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Melvin Ely
Current Research: American South, Civil War/Reconstruction, African American

McCullough, Morgan
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: mtmccullough@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American, Women, Native American

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early Modern Atlantic, New England, History of Religion

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
M.A. Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Email: pbnicholas@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Indigenous Political Economy; Colonial Northeast; Anarchy Theory

oxford

Oxford, Mitchell Edward
Ph. D. Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
email: meoxford@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Religion in the Early American Republic; The French Atlantic

perry

Perry, Molly
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: molly.perry@cnu.edu
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire
Webpage: wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/mfperry/homepage

cypher

Powell, Anne
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: acpowell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, social and political history

Kristina Poznan.jpg

Poznan, Kristina E.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Email: kepoznan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: U.S. immigration and ethnic history, America and the World, Central & Eastern European nationalism

Maddison Rhoa

Rhoa, Maddison
M.A. Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
Email: mjrhoa@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Ireland, Rebellion and Independence Movements, Literary History

cypher

Rick, James J.
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Dr. Charles McGovern
email: jjrick@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth Century U.S., Cultural/Intellectual, Capitalism

schmitt_c

Schmitt, Casey Sylvia
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: csschmitt@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Atlantic World, Early America, Latin America and the Caribbean
website: https://earlyamericanists.com

Kaila Schwartz

Schwartz, Kaila Knight
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: kkschwartz@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, children and the family, religion

Sease, Kasey
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Charles McGovern
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/ Intellectual, History of Virginia, History of Science and Technology

slattery

Slattery, Samuel
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: saslattery@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early North American History; Security History; Fortifications

Jane Snyder

Snyder, Jane
M.A. Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: jgsnyder@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Cultural/Intellectual, Trans-Atlantic, History of the Book

snyder

Snyder, Kathryn
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: kesnyder01@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

Sarah Thomas.jpg

Thomas, Sarah
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Dr. James Whittenburg
Email: setho2@email.wm.edu
Current Research: material culture, vernacular architectural history, early Southern backcountry

Tonat, Ian
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Early America, North American West

ward

Ward, David L.
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: dlward@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Republic, Continental Army, Medieval Europe
Website: {{https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-ward-4451a722}}

Emily Wells

Wells, Emily
Ph.D. Student
Advisor: Carol Sheriff
email: epwells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early American Republic; Material Culture; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

cypher

Wells, S. Spencer
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: sswells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Virginia

cypher

Whirley, Megan
M.A. Student
Advisor: Chandos Brown
Email: mmwhirley@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of Disabilities, Cultural/Intellectual History, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

cypher

Wood, Elizabeth
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Current Research: Women and African American communities in the nineteenth-century South

cypher

Zieger, Jason Peter
Ph.D. Student (ABD)
Email: [[e|jpzieg]]
Current Research: The development of the American industry in purportedly "Indian" patent medicines during the first decades of the nineteenth century.