Russian News

Awards 2015
Congratulations to the 2015 Award Recipients!

On Tuesday, April 21 at the College-wide Awards Ceremony 4 students from the Russian program were recognized: Sarah Wall received the Outstanding Achievement Award in Russian Studies Lirsen Myrtaj was named the 2015 ACTR Post-Secondary Russian Scholar Laureate Nicole Wright and Rianna Jansen received the RPSS Excellence Awards Congratulations, Sarah, Lirsen, Nicole, and Rianna! We are very proud of you!

Lydia House1
Congratulations Lydia House!

Congratulations to Lydia House on her appointment as a research assistant at the Kennan Institute. She will be working with Christopher Miller, Ph.D. Candidate, Yale University, Department of History, on his project “The Moscow Consensus.” The project concerns parallels between IMF and Soviet policy prescriptions for respective aid recipients in the 1980s.

Congratulations Danny Falloon and Logan Ferrell!

This year two of our graduating seniors received the prestigious Fulbright awards to teach English in Russia during the 2015-2016 academic year. Congratulations Danny Falloon and Logan Ferrell! We are very proud of you.

Dobro Slovo Induction 2015
Congratulations on Induction to National Slavic Honor Society!

Congratulations to Micah Butler, Shannon Callinan, Sherri Grierson, Rianna Jansen, Julia Seeley-Hall, and to professors Mulcahy and Kunakhovich on being inducted into the National Slavic Honor Society -- Dobro Slovo -- April 2, 2015!

Congratulations to Professor Frederick Corney!

It is our pleasure to announce that Professor Frederick Corney received the 2015 Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence! Our warmest congratulations from RPSS faculty and students!

Congratulations to Lirsen Myrtaj!

Congratulations to Lirsen Myrtaj who got accepted into the Phi Beta Kappa honor society this semester.

Congratulations to Jennifer Moore!

Congratulations to Jennifer Moore who has been selected for the summer 2015 internship at the United States Consulate in St. Petersburg, Russia!

Professor Yanni Kotsonis' Lecture (New York University)

Professor Yanni Kotsonis (Department of History, New York University) will give his presentation “Taxes and the Modern Citizen. How Taxes in Russia, the USSR, and the World Shaped Governments, Peoples, and Persons in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries”.

2015 Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to our 2015 recipients of the Tepper (T) and Dobro Slovo (DS) Scholarships: Micah Butler (T&DS), Corinne Nordt (DS), Spencer Small (T&DS), and Jessica Tiblin (T). We would like to offer a special thank you to the Tepper family for their generous funding of the 2015 Tepper Scholarship.