Russian Studies Program Awards

Graduation 2009


Vadim Shneyder passed his Honors Thesis defense with Highest Honors!
Vadim is also the recipient of the MLL Book Award for 2009.

Liz Owerbach and Bryan Terrill received Fulbright English Teaching Assistantships.
Liz will live in the city of Тольятти (Tolyatti), Bryan will spend his year in Петропавловск-Камчатский (Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky) in the Kamchatka peninsula.

Sarah Argodale received Critical Language Scholarship from the US Department of State to study Russian in Kazan (Russia) this summer.

Laura Tourtellotte, Bryan Terrill, and Vadim Shneyder were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society.

Erin O'Grady got the State Department Internship at the US Embassy in Moscow for this summer.

Pete Giannino and Genia Derevyannykh received Chappell Fellowships for summer research.

Dobro Slovo Scholarship Advisory Committee is happy to announce that William Sinnott received the 2009 Dobro Slovo Scholarship award.

Jan-Pieter Verheul and Liz Owerbach received Russian and Post-Soviet Studies awards.

Suzanne Reed received a National Security Education Program (NSEP) David L. Boren Scholarship from the American Councils for International Education for the Academic Year 2009-2010