Committee on Honors and Interdisciplinary Studies 2004-05 Report to the Faculty

Faculty Members: Joel Schwartz (chair), Ismael Abdalla, William Hutton, Christine Nemacheck, Phil Daileader, Allison Beach, Maryse Fauvel, Dennis Manos, Laurie Wolf, John Charles, Lisa Grimes, Ed Pratt, Suzanne Rait

Student Members : Michelle Neyland, Matthew Oreska, Ellen Turner, Thersa Wang

The Committee has met approximately once per month throughout the year. Primary items of business have included:

(1) Monroe Scholars

Committee members advised 171 Monroe Scholars who submitted proposals for summer, 2005 projects. In addition, the Committee has established policies for the revised Monroe Scholar program, which now includes an application process for rising sophomores the result of which will be the naming of about 45 additional Monroe Scholars.

(2) May Seminars

The Committee is currently evaluating 13 May Seminar proposals and 11 proposals for the new Mellon Teaching Fellows Program.

(3) Concentration Honors

142 students registered for honors in fall, 2004 and to date 24 of these students have dropped, leaving 118 students on track to defend this spring. Department numbers:

American Studies (2)	Linguistics (1)
Anthropology (6)	Neuroscience (2)
Applied Science (1)	International Relations (3)
Art and Art History (2)	International Studies (1)
Biology (11)	Mathematics (1)
Chemistry (13)	Modern Languages (4)
Classics (3)	Music (2)
Computer Science (4)	Philosophy (1)
Economics (3)	Physics (8)
English (4)	Psychology (9)
Geology (4)	Religion (6)
Government (12)	Sociology (4)
History (11)	Theatre (1)