Latest about COVID-19 and W&M's Path Forward.

Info for... William & Mary
William & Mary W&M menu close William & Mary

2018 English Literary Awards

Each year, students from all majors submit their best work for our annual Student Literary Awards. They are judged first by a panel of creative writing faculty members, and then the top choices in each genre category are ranked by esteemed outside judges. In April, during the final weeks of classes, winners are invited to read from their work before their peers and the gathered faculty. First, second, and third prize winners are awarded a cash prize. First place winners also go on to attend the Alumni Prize Ceremony in May.


Here are this year’s winners:


The Goronwy Owen Prize in Poetry (group of poems)

First Place: James Burns

Second Place: Hunter Blackwell

Third Place: Jake Leonard


The Glenwood Clark Prize in Fiction

First Place: Brooke Stephenson

Second Place: Jessie Urgo

Third Place: Katherine Hansen


The Academy of American Poets Prize (single poem)

First Place: Jake Leonard

Second Place: Clair Flynn

Third Place: James Burns


The Howard Scammon Prize for Drama (playwriting/screenwriting)

First Place: Abigail Newell

Second Place: Naomi Gruber

Third Place: Marriya Schwarz


The Tiberius Gracchus Jones Prize for Nonfiction

First Place: Cal Ritterhoff

Second Place: Mackenzie Neal

Third Place: Erika Jaimes


Outside judges: Clay McLeod Chapman, Tarfia Faizullah, Davy Rothbart, Patricia A. Smith, Allison Titus