The Ewell Award

In 1987, the Student Association (now the Student Assembly) established an award to honor well-rounded graduating students — both graduate and undergraduate — who best exemplify a liberal arts education through their activities and academic studies. This award was named in honor of Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, the President of the College of William & Mary, who by ringing the Wren Building bell kept the College alive when its doors closed during the Civil War. Ewell recognized that students are the heart of the College's existence and continued the spirit until the students could bring life back to campus.

Up to 40 recipients are selected for the Ewell Award each year. Recipients are selected on the basis of their outstanding participation and leadership on campus and/or community activities, and on the basis of their service and contribution to the school or community. Honorees receive a certificate at the "Evening of Excellence" and are listed on the awards sheet at Commencement.  Candidates may be full-time or part-time students and must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA). They must be eligible to walk in the May Commencement ceremony, and they must not be on honor or student conduct probation.

The 2016 Ewell Award application is due Friday, March 25th by 5pm.