Yates Hall Welcome Message

Greetings from The College of William & Mary!

Welcome Welcome Welcome!

Greetings! I want to personally welcome you to Yates Hall and most importantly to the College of William & Mary family!  My name is April Palmer and I am the Area Director  for the Randolph Complex and Yates Hall. You may ask yourself, what is an Area Director? I am a full-time employee of the College with a Master’s Degree in Higher Education Administration. Overall, I am responsible for the day to day management and activities that occur in the areas. As a full time residence life professional, it is my responsibility to ensure that we offer support, encouragement, and a safe living environment to our new and current students.

Yates has an amazing staff and we look forward to meeting everyone in the Fall. We also encourage you to take an active role in your community and participate in Hall Council and the Residence Hall Association.

Please review this website for detailed information and do not hesitate to contact me with any questions!

We are looking forward to seeing you in August!  

April Palmer
Area Director Randolph Complex/Yates
The College of William & Mary
757-221-3187
ajpalmer01@wm.edu

Welcome to Yates Hall!

The Yates staff would like to send you our greetings as you prepare to make the transition to college life and join us here in the fall. We are looking forward to exciting times as you begin this important new part of your life. We know that you are going to enjoy it, and we are eager to help you find your way on the path to independence.

 

First we’d like to tell you about Yates Hall, where you’ll be living this coming year. Yates is a large freshman hall, so expect to meet many different people with exciting backgrounds. Yates, named after Rev. William Yates, the 5th President of the College, opened in 1962. Yates has three floors, with three separate halls on each floor, and a basement. The building also has seven different lounges.

 

Yates Hall has a lot to offer. It’s famous – Jon Stewart lived in the basement – and cool – we have A/C! It’s also close to the rec center, the dining hall, William & Mary Hall, Kaplan Arena, Swem Library, and the Sadler Center.  The basement has a kitchen and a laundry room that has been recently renovated! Other amenities include vending machines, a pool table, board games galore, vacuum cleaners, cooking equipment, a huge DVD collection, and several nice flat screen TVs.

 

The Yates Staff is made up of ten Resident Assistants and one Head Resident. Resident Assistants (RAs) are student staff members trained to ensure a healthy, safe, and vibrant living community. Each RA is available as a resource to answer any questions you have, enforce policy, and plan exciting events and activities for residents of the hall. The RA lives on the hall with you and is there to help you. At the bottom of this letter is a list of the RAs in Yates for next year, as well as their contact information.  The Head Resident is a junior or senior at the College who works with the RAs and serves as the advisor to Hall Council, and is there to assist you during your time living in Yates.

 

If you have any questions before your arrival in August, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are happy to answer any of your questions and we all look forward to welcoming you to William & Mary and to Yates Hall.  Have a great summer and we’ll see you soon!

 

The Yates Hall Staff

 

Name

 

Location

 

Email

Area Director

 

Micah Matthews

Yates Head Resident

mrmatthews@email.wm.edu

Caroline Byrd

Basement (B001 - B015)

csbyrd@email.wm.edu

Isaiah Simmons

1st South (101-115)

ijsimmons@email.wm.edu

Jennie Cuddeback

1st Center (117-131)

jpcuddeback@email.wm.edu

Lindsey Hughes

1st North (132-147)

lshughes@email.wm.edu

Chase Gordon

2nd South (201-215)

cggordon@email.wm.edu

Kayla Armstrong

2nd Center (217-231)

kmarmstrong@email.wm.edu

Yizhou Qiu

2nd North (232-247)

yqiu01@email.wm.edu

Nathan Setka

3rd South (301-315)

nsetka@email.wm.edu

Danielle Harris

3rd Center (317-331)

daharris01@email.wm.edu

Zach Hutcheson

3rd North (332-347)

zghutcheson@email.wm.edu