Active Citizens Celebration 2014

Congratulations to all of our award recipients this year.

Freshman Service Award: Corey Strickland

Spirit of Service: Almendra Terrones & Hallie Westlund

Walk the Talk: Rebecca Silverstein & Lauren Hong

Service Organization of the Year: UAID

Student Speaker: Erin Faltermeier

Alumni Humanitarian of the Year: Nic Martinez

Tradition of Service: Rachel Brooks

Thank you to all of the W&M students, faculty, staff, and community partners who have worked together this year to promote positive, community driven social change.  

President's Award for Service to the Community

The President’s Office and The Office of Community Engagement select recipients of the President’s Award for Service to the Community. Each year one award is given to a student and one to a faculty or staff member who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to service.

In March, the President's Office puts out a call for nominations via the W&M Digest. Any member of the College community (faculty or staff, full or part time) may be nominated.  Nominations, consisting only of the nominee's name and contact information, should be submitted to [[megentry, Liz Genrtry]] via email by May 16th, 2014.   An application is then sent to the nominee..  Applicants are notified of their status in late June.

Individuals chosen have made a significant and measurable impact on the community. Although we want to recognize people with a proven commitment to service, the impact of their service need not be wide (for example, a volunteer who has helped to improve significantly the quality of a battered women’s life will be as eligible as someone who has worked with several grade school students). This award will recognize the quality of service first, the quantity second.

The award carries a prize of $500, which is donated, in the name of the award recipient, to a community service organization of the recipient’s choice. The winners are recognized at Opening Convocation.