Instructions for Outlook Calendar 2010

For PC Users

Open your calendar
  1. Launch Outlook 2010.
  2. Click the Calendar button in the bottom, left-hand toolbar. It's directly under Mail.
View your calendar

In the toolbar at the top of Outlook calendar, there are DayWork WeekWeek, and Month tabs that control the timeframe of your calendar. The Work option shows the typical five day work week, while the Week option includes weekends. The other two are self-explanatory.

In the upper right hand corner of your actual calendar (right below the top toolbar), there are two triangular arrows. Use these to navigate your calendar. Depending on the timeframe you've set, clicking the arrows with move your calendar forward or backward a day, week or month.

Create, edit, or delete an event

To create an appointment that only applies just to you (a doctors visit, a weekly lunch date, or even a time-block when you need to work on a particular project)

  1. Navigate to the day of the appointment
  2. Click on New Appointment in the toolbar. You can also double-click the starting time or anywhere else on your calendar.
  3. Enter information about the appointment in the New Appointment window that pops up.

    a. SubjectLocation, or any notes
    b. Day, time or duration. Check or uncheck the All day event box if you are busy or out of the office for the day
    c. Choose a Status
    d. Set a Reminder
    e. Click Recurring to select a recurrence pattern.

  4. Click Save & Close.

To invite other people to an appointment, complete the five steps above and then

  1. Click Invite Attendees.
  2. Enter the email addresses of all the attendees in the To: box.
  3. Click Send.

To edit an appointment, just double-click on it. You may not have permission to edit appointments you don't create, though.

To delete an appointment, click on it and press the delete key.

Share your calendar
  1. Access the Sharing Invitations form by clicking the Share Calendar button in the Home tab.
  2. Type the name or email address of the user you'd like to share with in the To: box.
  3. The preset subject should read Sharing invitation: your username - Calendar
  4. Leave the Request permission to view recipient's Calendar checked or unchecked at your own discretion.
  5. If Allow recipient to view your Calendar is unchecked, then check it. 
  6.  Choose one of three sharing level in the Details list.
    a. Availability only: the user will only see the labels as FreeBusyTentative or Out of Office.
    b. Limited details: the user will be able to see the availability and subjects of calendar items.
    c. Full details: the user will be able to see all information associated with your calendar items. 
  7. Click the Send button.

Your fellow W&M Exchange user will receive an automatic email saying that you've now shared your calendar with them. All they have to do is click the Add this Calendar link in that email.

View another person's calendar
  1. In the top toolbar's Home tab, click the Open Calendar drop down.
  2. Choose From Address Book...
  3. Search for a person or a conference room (for this have to enter "RM-" then room number, i.e. "RM-Jones235").
  4. Double-click on the person/room name and then click OK.

The calendar will either open right up on the left navigation panel or you'll get a message saying you don't have permission to view it.

Schedule meetings
  1. In the top toolbar's Home tab, click New Meeting
  2. The New Meeting window will pop up.
  3. Enter the names of the attendees in the To: box. To reserve a particular room for the meeting, make sure you type "RM-" and then the name and number of the room ("RM-Jones211")
  4. Click the Scheduling Assistant option to compare the calendars of each attendee and choose the best time.
  5. Enter the Subject and Location of the meeting, as well as message in the Message tab.
  6. Click Send.
  7. If you edit the time or location of the meeting, make sure you click Send Update so all the attendees are aware of the changes.
Posting an event or meeting on someone else's calendar without it appearing on your own

In order to do this, that person must adjust the Permission level they've set for you.