William & Mary Faculty with Health Policy Interests

Each year, the Schroeder Center supports William & Mary faculty in conducting health policy research, which is defined as the study of national, state, and/or local government policies and programs that aim to promote the health of people, improve access to healthcare, and increase the quality, equity, and efficiency of care delivery.  Listed below are William & Mary faculty who have health and health policy research interests.

ARTS AND SCIENCES FACULTY

Economics

Brian Beach, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Tyler Hall, Room 258
bbbeach@wm.edu

Historical demography, health and socioeconomic status, and public health
Peter McHenry, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Tyler Hall, Room 256
(757) 221-1796
pmchenry@wm.edu

Health economics, informal caregiving, Medicare, and nursing labor markets
Mellor Jennifer Mellor, Ph.D.

CV (pdf)
Professor
Director, Schroeder Center for Health Policy
Tyler Hall, Room 433
(757) 221-1913
jmmell@wm.edu

Health economics, health policy, determinants of health, Medicare spending 
John Parman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Tyler Hall, Room 254
(757) 221-2852 
jmparman@wm.edu

Economic history, effect of health shocks on families, health and socioeconomic status

Peter Savelyev, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Tyler Hall, Room 232
(757) 221-2371
pasavelyev@wm.edu

Health economics, economics of human development
Ranjan Shrestha, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Tyler Hall, Room 460
rshrestha@wm.edu

Health economics, development economics, economic demography
Psychology
Danielle Dallaire, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Integrated Science Center,
Room 1143

(757) 221-3884
dhdall@wm.edu
Children’s social and emotional development in the context of risk
Public Health
Dolan Carrie Dolan, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Assistant Professor of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
Adair Hall, Room 112
(757) 221-2079
cbdolan@wm.edu

International development, health policy, development assistance for health, geospatial impact evaluations
Iyabo Obasanjo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Adair Hall, Room 303A
(757) 221-5452
iobasanjo@wm.edu

Global health
Scott Alison Scott, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
Adair Hall, Room 114
(757) 221-2760
ascott01@wm.edu
Public health, international health
Sociology
Elyas Bakhtiari, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Morton Hall, Room 216
(757) 221-3488
ebakhtiari@wm.edu
Health disparities, cross-national comparison of health outcomes, medical sociology, racial/ethnic inequality
BUSINESS SCHOOL FACULTY
Chon Abraham, Ph.D., M.B.A.  

Associate Professor of Information Systems
Miller Hall, Room 3008
(757) 221-2803
Chon.Abraham@mason.wm.edu

Healthcare informatics, ecare initiatives, technology use by nurses
Tracy Johnson-Hall, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Operations and Information Technology
Miller Hall, Room 3058
(757) 221-2657
tracy.johnsonhall@mason.wm.edu

Quality failures in food and pharmaceutical supply chains and product recalls
Louis F. Rossiter, Ph.D.

Director, Health Sector Program
Research Professor of Public Policy
Former Virginia Secretary of Health and Human Resources
Former Deputy of Policy at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(804) 338-0223
lfross@wm.edu

Health economics, financing and delivery of health care, reimbursement economics

CENTER FOR EXCELLENCE IN AGING AND LIFELONG HEALTH (CEALH)
Christine Jensen, Ph.D.

Visiting Research Assistant Professor of Public Policy
Director, Health Services Research at Riverside Center for Excellence in Aging and Lifelong Health
3901 Treyburn Building, Suite 100
(757) 220-4751 ext. 16
cjensen@excellenceinaging.org

Elder care and dementia, community assessments, home and community-based services