Graduate Student Bios and Research

Please click on the student's name for more information.
Laura Ansley.jpg

Ansley, Laura
ABD History
Advisor: Leisa Meyer
email: lmansley@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women's and gender history, history of sexuality, history of childhood
Website: {{https://wm.academia.edu/LauraAnsley}}

Bailey, Hannah
ABD History
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: hebailey@email.wm.edu
Current Research: French Atlantic, Historiography and Historical Memory, Race and Ethnicity

Kristen Beales

Beales, Kristen
Graduate Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: kebeales@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Religion, Economy

Bourbeau-Allard, Ève
Graduate Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: ebourbeauallar@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Gender and family history in late eighteenth-century Virginia

Amelia Butler

Butler, August M.
Graduate Student History
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Email: ambutl@email.wm.edu
Current Research: 19th century Russian immigrant orphans in US

carbonell

Carbonell, Caylin
Graduate Student
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: cecarbonell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America; Women, Gender, and Sexuality; Social and Labor

cypher

Cook, Elizabeth
ABD History
Advisor: James P. Whittenburg
Email: ecook@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Material Culture, Early American History, Architectural History

Laurel Daen.jpg

Daen, Laurel
ABD History
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: lrdaen@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America; Disability; Gender

Cara Elliott.jpg

Elliott, Cara
ABD History
Advisor: Leisa Meyer
Email: caelliott@email.wm.edu
Current Research: History of childhood, Postwar US history, History of race and gender

finley_a.jpg

Finley, Alexandra
ABD History
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Current Research: Slavery, Economic History and Capitalism, Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Fitzgibbon, Joe
Graduate Student
Advisor: Scott Nelson
Email: jpfitzgibbon@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States, Migration

Gibson, Amanda W.
Graduate Student
Advisor: Scott Nelson
email: awgibson@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Perceptions of money in late eighteenth century Virginia

cypher

Gillan, Thomas J.
Graduate Student
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: tjgillan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Intellectual History, History of the Book, History of the Body
Website: {{http://thomasjgillan.wordpress.com/}}

Alexandra Gross

Gross, Alexandra
Graduate Student
Advisor: Leisa Meyer
Email: amgross@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women's History, Cultural History, Communication Studies

cypher

Guerci, Mark
Graduate Student
Advisor: Cindy Hahamovitch
Email: mtguerci@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Nineteenth Century America, Twentieth Century America, History of Capitalism

Holly, Nathaniel
Graduate Student
Advisor: Joshua Piker
Email: nfholly@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Urban

Christopher Jones.jpg

Jones, Christopher C.
ABD History
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: ccjones@email.wm.edu
Current research: Dissertation: "Religion and Revolution in the Atlantic World: Methodism in North America and the Caribbean"

kabbani

Kabbani , Manal
Graduate Student
Advisor: Ayfer Stump
Email: makabbani@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Modern Middle East, Syrian Diaspora, United States

Kane, Maria A.
ABD History
Email: [[e|makane]]
Current Research: The growth of contemporary evangelicalism in the United States

Keiter_l

Keiter, Lindsay
ABD History
Advisor: Karin Wulf
Email: lmkeit@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Gender/Women; Early America

Kidwell_j

Kidwell, Jessica
Graduate Student
Advisor: Nicholas Popper
Email: jdkidwell@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Stuart England, Religious History

kleber

Kleber, Michaela
Graduate Student History
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: mkleber@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American, Gender and Sexuality, Early America

Kuckuck, Jeffrey
M.A./Ph.D Candidate
Email: [[e|jwkuck]]
Current Research: New England political ideology and political culture in the wake of the Glorious Revolution.

Kyrova_l

Kyrova , Lucie
ABD History
Advisor: Dr. Andy Fisher
Email: lxkyro@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American/Indigenous Peoples, Transnational Social Movements, Cold War

masterson

Masterson , Jack T.
Graduate Student
Advisor: Chris Grasso
Email: jtmasterson@email.wm.edu
Current Research: jtmasterson@email.wm.edu

cypher

McClure, John
Ph. D. Candidate
Advisor: Melvin Ely
Current Research: American South, Civil War/Reconstruction, African American

mclennen_s

McLennan, Sarah
ABD History
Advisor: Leisa Meyer
Email: semcle@email.wm.edu
Current Research: United States; Cultural History and Public Memory; Women, Gender, and Sexuality

mulligan_mark

Mulligan, Mark
Graduate Student
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: mmulligan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: English Colonial North America, Native American History, Religious History

nicholas

Nicholas , Phillip
Graduate Student
Advisor: Robert Trent Vinson
Email: pbnicholas@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Eighteenth-Century Jamaica; Slavery and Transatlantic Slave Trade

Niendorf_m

Niendorf, Matt
Graduate Student
Advisor: Kathrin Levitan
Email: mjniendorf@email.wm.edu
Current Research: British Empire, Indian Ocean, Exploration

olsen-harbich

Olsen-Harbich, Peter
Graduate Student
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: pjolsenharbich@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Iroquoian Economies, Dependency Theory, Colonial Trade Networks

Pariseau_j

Pariseau, Justin A.
ABD History
Advisor: Melvin P. Ely
Email: japari@email.wm.edu
Current Research: The relationships between white and black residents in nineteenth-century maritime New England, and their participation in (or opposition to) the abolition of slavery.

Perry, Molly
ABD History
Email: mfperry@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Protest and Persuasion in the British Empire
Webpage: {{wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/mfperry/homepage}}

Kristina Poznan.jpg

Poznan, Kristina
ABD History
Advisor: Scott Reynolds Nelson
Email: kepoznan@email.wm.edu
Current Research: U.S. immigration and ethnic history, America and the World, Central & Eastern European nationalism

schmitt_c

Schmitt, Casey Sylvia
ABD History
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: csschmitt@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Latin America and the Caribbean, Comparative Legal History

Sease, Kasey
Graduate Student
Advisor: Chris Grasso
Email: kmsease@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America, Cultural/Intellectual, Material Culture

Snyder, Kathryn
ABD History
Email: kesnyder01@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Women, performance, and early modern/colonial drama

Sarah Thomas.jpg

Thomas, Sarah
Graduate Student
Advisor: Dr. James Whittenburg
Email: setho2@email.wm.edu
Current Research: material culture, vernacular architectural history, history of the early Southern backcountry

cypher

Tonat, Ian
Graduate Student
Advisor: Brett Rushforth
Email: ietonat@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Native American; Early American

Vickory, A. Stephen
Graduate Student
Advisor: Dr. Joshua Piker
Email: asvickory@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Southeastern Native American history

Wallace, Chase
ABD History
Email: [[e|cawallace]]
Current Research: The rise and decline of the plantation in the Old Southwest

Walsh, CJ
M.A. Candidate
Email: [[e|cjwals]]
Current Research: The material displays and ritual use of home furnishings of three artisan families in Williamsburg between 1725 and 1763.

ward

Ward, David L.
Graduate Student History
Advisor: Paul Mapp
Email: dlward@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Early America and African-American prior to 1877
Website: {{https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=78104501&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile}}

Welch, Laurence
CTMA Graduate Student
Email: lrwelch@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Transfer of ideas, systems, and philosophies of education from Europe to America in the eighteenth century.

cypher

Wells, S. Spencer
ABD History
Advisor: Christopher Grasso
Email: sswells@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Excommunication, American Religious History, Toleration/Tolerance

Holly Stevens.jpg

White, Holly
ABD History
Advisor: Karin Wulf
email: hnstevens@email.wm.edu
Current Research: Childhood and Youth; Gender and Family in Early America

Wood, Elizabeth
ABD History
Current Research: Women and African American communities in the nineteenth-century South

Zieger, Jason Peter
ABD History
Email: [[e|jpzieg]]
Current Research: The development of the American industry in purportedly "Indian" patent medicines during the first decades of the nineteenth century.