A&S Graduate Portfolio

A comprehensive collection of graduate student achievements

The A&S Graduate Student Association (GSA) and the Dean of Graduate Studies and Research initiated the Graduate Portfolio in October 2009 to highlight the quality of A&S graduate programs by compiling and disseminating information on the accomplishments of A&S graduate students.  This website makes accessible to the public and the campus community the awards, publications, and other noteworthy activities of current and recently graduated students. The Portfolio enables undergraduate students, faculty, staff, alumni and prospective students to note what W&M A&S graduate students are doing in their programs and with their degrees. This increases awareness of the successes of W&M A&S graduate students, and encourage further opportunities for both enrolled and graduated W&M students.

GSA representatives collect information on graduate student achievements in their respective departments/programs.  You also have the option to submit your information on the web at https://forms.wm.edu/1539. Three times per year (February, October, and May), these updated entries provided by A&S graduate students are posted to this website.  Note if you use the web submission form, the information will not automatically be updated on the A&S Graduate Portfolio page. In the future, this site can be expanded to include ongoing updates from alumni.  Please contact Dean Virginia Torczon [[vjtorc]] with questions or comments. 

Submission of Information

A&S graduate students are invited to send to their Graduate Student Association representative (listed below) their accomplishments dated from September 2010 through the present.  We ask that you send only accomplishments received outside of William & Mary, the exception being nationally competitive awards affiliated with William & Mary (e.g., publication in the William & Mary Quarterly) or prestigious College-wide awards (e.g., Thatcher Prize for Excellence).  The site lists accomplishments under the following categories: Awards/Honors, Fellowships, Research Grants, Internships, Conference Presentations, Publications, Community Service/Outreach, and Recent Alumni Employment/Positions.
 
Awards/activities must be listed in the following format for inclusion in the Graduate Portfolio:
Category of Award/Activity, Title of Award/Activity, Date of Award/Activity, Student First and Last Name, Degree, Program.

Fellowship Example: NSF Fellow, 2009-2010, John Smith, PhD, Physics

You may use any format accepted in your discipline for the Publications and Conference Presentations, with the student name, degree, and program added at the end of the citation. Provide complete citations, including up to ten co-authors (with "et al." indicating co-authors greater than ten), for Publications and Conference Presentations.

Publication Example: George Smith and Karen Jones. "Lost without Lost." The Journal of Popular Film and Television. 12.3 (Spring 2008): 50-60., Karen Jones, PhD, American Studies

Please e-mail your information in the appropriate format to your GSA representative.  You also have the option to submit your information on the web at https://forms.wm.edu/1539. To submit the information on the web you will need your WMuserid and password. Note if you use the web submission form, the information will not automatically be updated on the A&S Graduate Portfolio page. 

American Studies: Nabeel Siddiqui   nasiddiqui@email.wm.edu

Anthropology: Rachel Bowen   rebowen@email.wm.edu

Applied Science: Will Roach   wmroach@email.wm.edu

Biology: Jessica Ebers   jhebers@email.wm.edu

Chemistry: Joseph Auslander    jsauslander@email.wm.edu

Computer Science: Ed Novak   ejnovak@email.wm.edu

History: Katie Snyder kesnyder01@email.wm.edu

Physics: Daniel Davee   dvdavee@email.wm.edu

Psychology: David Newman   dbnewman@email.wm.edu

Public Policy: Geoffrey  Zindren   gpzindren@email.wm.edu