Faculty Directory

Government is one of the largest academic departments at William & Mary. All of our faculty members have Ph.D degrees from leading universities and specialties in all the major subfields of political science. Every faculty member teaches introductory and required courses, as well as more specialized courses about particular aspects of the political world.

Deeply engaged in research, our faculty offers meaningful research opportunities to students through classes, independent study opportunities, and as collaborators and assistants on major projects. In the Government Department, teaching and research are fully integrated.

Government faculty also teach graduate-level courses as part of the Public Policy program.

Blouet, Brian
Huby Professor of Geography and International Education
Office: Tyler 245
Email: [[bwblou]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3041


Brown, Caitlin
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 234
Email: [[cbrown02]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3019
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 2:30-4PM


Burns, Sean
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 416
Email: [[scburns]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3479

Cheng, T. J.
Class of 1935 Professor
Office: Tyler 235
Email: [[tjchen]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3032
Office Hours: Tues 1-3PM & Wed 1-2PM or By Appointment

Clay Clemens

Clemens, Clay
Chancellor Professor of Government
On Leave: Fall 2017
Office: Tyler 365
Email: [[cmclem]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3027

crock thumbnail

Crock, Jonathan
Adjunct Lecturer of Government
Office: Tyler 362
Email: [[jmcrock]]
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 11AM-Noon or By Appointment


Devins, Neal
Goodrich Professor of Law, Cabell Research Professor, Professor of Government, Director, Institute of Bill of Rights Law and Director, Election Law Program
Office: Law School Room 254C
Email: [[nedevi]]
Office Phone: (757) 221-3845

Doherty, Daniel
Adjunct Lecturer of Government
Office: Tyler 463
Email: [[djdoherty]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2039
Office Hours: Wed 10:30-11:30AM, 2-4PM or By Appointment

Evans, C. Lawrence
Newton Family Professor of Government
Office: Tyler 236
Email: [[clevan]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3030
Webpage: {{http://wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/clevan}}

John Gilmour

Gilmour, John
Professor; Director of the W&M Public Policy Program; Associate Director of the Thomas Jefferson Graduate Program in Public Policy
Office: Tyler 412B
Email: [[jbgilm]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3085
Webpage: {{http://faculty.wm.edu/jbgilm}}


Hanson, Stephen
Vice Provost for International Affairs and Director of the Reves Center for International Studies
Office: Reves Center 106
Email: [[sehanson]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3591


Harish, S.P.
Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 357
Email: [[spharish]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3028
Webpage: https://sites.google.com/site/harishsp/home


Hart, Sophia
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 362
Email: [[schart]]
Office Phone: 757-221-7553
Office Hours: Mon & Wed 6-7PM

Holmes Thumbnail 2014

Holmes, Marcus
Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 367
Email: [[mholmes]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2575
Office Hours: Wed 3-5PM or By Appointment


Howard, Chris
Harriman Professor of Government and Public Policy
Office: Tyler 363
Email: [[cdhowa]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3026
Office Hours: Mon & Thurs 3-4:30PM or By Appointment

Kaplow, Jeff
Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 348
Email: [[jkaplow]]
Office Phone: 757-221-7878
Office Hours: Mon 9:30-11:30AM


Lombardini, John
Associate Professor
Office: Tyler 255
Email: [[jlombardini]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2082
Webpage: {{http://wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/jlombardini}}

Dan Maliniak

Maliniak, Dan
Assistant Professor
On Leave: Fall 2017-Spring 2018
Office: Tyler 347
Email: [[dxmali]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2266

Paul Manna

Manna, Paul
Department Chair and Isabelle and Jerome E. Hyman Distinguished University Professor of Government
Office: Tyler 318A
Email: [[pmanna]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3024
Office Hours: Wed 3-5PM or By Appointment

McGlennon, John
Office: Tyler 366
Email: [[jjmcgl]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3034
Office Hours : Mon 10-10:50AM, Tues 11-11:50AM & Fri 3-3:50PM

Claire McKinney

McKinney, Claire
Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 320
Email: [[cmckinney]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2041

Mullen, Rani
Associate Professor
On Leave: Fall 2017-Spring 2019
Email: [[rdmull]]
Office: Tyler 234
Office Phone: 757-221-3033

Nemacheck, Christine
Wilson & Martha Claiborne Stephens Associate Professor
Office: Tyler 346
Email: [[clnema]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3133
Office Hours: Mon 5-6PM, Wed 10:30AM-Noon

Amy Oakes

Oakes, Amy
University Associate Professor for Teaching Excellence; Director International Relations Program
Office: Tyler 354
Email: [[acoake]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3025
Office Hours: Mon & Wed 3-4:30PM or By Appointment

Peterson, Sue
Reves Professor of Government and International Relations
On Leave: Fall 2017-Spring 2018
Office: Tyler 345
Email: [[smpete]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3036

Pickering, Paula
Associate Professor
Office: Tyler 343
Email: [[pmpick]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3038
Webpage: {{http://pmpick.people.wm.edu}}

Poliquin Thumb

Poliquin, Etienne
Visiting Instructor
Office: Tyler 364
Email: [[epoliquin]]
Phone: 757-221-7683
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 1:30-3:00PM or By Appointment

Rahman, Katherine
Visiting Assistant Professor
On Leave: Fall 2017
Office: Tyler 426B
Email: [[kirahm]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3040

Rapoport, Ronald
John Marshall Professor
Office: Tyler 352
Email: [[rbrapo]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3042

Roessler, Philip
Associate Professor
On Leave: Fall 2017-Spring 2018
Office: Tyler 334
Email: [[proessler]]
Office Phone: 757- 221-3045


Sasser, Jackson
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 237
Email: [[jnsass]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3832
Office Hours: Tues Noon-2PM, Wed 2-3PM or By Appointment

Schwartz, Joel
Weingartner Professor and Director, Roy R. Charles Center
Office: Blow Hall 268
Email: [[jxschw]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2460


Settle, Jaime
Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 368
Email: [[jsettle]]
Office Phone: 757-221-2279
Webpage: {{http://jsettle.people.wm.edu/index.html}}

Dennis Smith

Smith, Dennis
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 358
Email: [[dasmi2]]
Office Phone: 757-221-5086
Office Hours: Mon & Wed Noon-1PM or By Appointment


Sterling, Rebekah
Visiting Instructor
Office: Tyler 238
Email: [[resterling]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3087
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 4:30-6PM

Stow Thumbnail

Stow, Simon
Associate Professor
Office: Tyler 361
Email: [[sastow]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3048
Webpage: {{http://wmpeople.wm.edu/site/page/sastow}}

Tierney, Michael
George and Mary Hylton Professor of International Relations
Office: Tyler 341
Email: [[mjtier]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3039
Webpage: {{http://faculty.wm.edu/mjtier}}

van der Veen, Maurits
Associate Professor
Office: Tyler 355
Email: [[amvanderveen]]
Office Phone: 757-221-3029
Webpage: {{http://www.maurits.net/index.html}}

Wilkerson, Lawrence
Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Government and Public Policy
Office: Tyler 423
Email: [[lbwilk]]
Office Hours: Mon 8-11AM, 2-5PM

Hongyu Zhang

Zhang, Hongyu
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Tyler 422
Email: [[hzhang17]]
Office Phone: 757-221-1816
Office Hours: Tues 11AM-Noon & Thurs 2-3PM