Committee on Faculty Awards, Professorships, and Prizes (CFAPP)

Yearly Report - May 11, 2020
To: Dean Conley, Faculty Affairs Committee and Faculty of Arts and Sciences
From: CFAPP 2019-20
Melanie Dawson*, (English, Area I)
Tomoko Hamada*, (Anthropology, Area II)
Kay Jenkins, co-chair (Sociology, Area II)
Charles Palermo (Art History, Area I)
Jonathan Scheerer*, (Chemistry, Area III)
Evgenia Smirni, co-chair (Computer Science, Area III)

* Indicates new committee member

The entire committee would like to express, for a second year in a row, its heartfelt thanks to Kathy Morgan (Dean of Arts and Sciences Office) for providing us with all information needed to accomplish our tasks in a timely and efficient manner. Kathy Morgan's interactions with the committee were exemplary. We are especially thankful to Kathy for providing us with detailed spreadsheets with the various awards (and their respective deadlines) as well as spreadsheets of prior awardees across Arts and Sciences. We are grateful for Kathy's continuous and gracious guidance throughout the year.

Procedures and this year's awards

Consistent with last year's practice, the entire CFAPP met for Eminent Professorships. For the remaining of the awards subcommittees were formed, each chaired by a CFAPP member and two more faculty who were prior recipients of the specific award and did not have conflict of interest with any of the candidates (e.g., being from the same department). For the rare cases where a conflict of interests within the subcommittee was unavoidable, the committee member recused him/herself where the pertinent case was discussed by the subcommittee. More details on the various CFAPP meetings are provided below:

- All CFAPP (except Melanie Dawson, due to a conflict of interest) met on Wednesday, December 4, 2019 from 9:00AM to 10AM to discuss the 9 candidates for the Class of 1962 Eminent Professorship and the Calkins-Ritter Eminent Scholar Professorship. Of this list, 4 names (unranked) were forwarded to Dean Conley per her instructions.
- Government Perles Professorship: Members of the CFAPP (Dawson, Jenkins, Palermo, Scheerer, and Smirni) met on Thursday, March 26, from 12:00PM-12:30PM via zoom to discuss the three candidate cases for the Perles Professorship. The sixth member of the committee, Tomoko Hamada did not meet because she was on leave during Spring 2020. Per dean's instructions, the (ordered) ranking of the three candidates and a brief explanation of the ranking was also provided.

- **3.** Chancellor Professorships: On Tuesday, November 12, 2019, the Chancellor Professorship selection committee met from 11:30AM to 12:50PM and ranked the 16 Chancellor nominations. The committee was composed by Smirni (CFAPP, Area III) and two Chancellor professors Suzanne Raitt (Area I) and Clay Clemens (Area II). The committee unanimously selected seven finalists and provided their names to the dean (unranked). The dean asked for six finalists but the committee felt that it was nearly impossible to choose six names from the above seven.
- 4. A&S Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence: Kathleen Jenkins (CFAPP, Area II) Chaired the committee. The committee members met on January 24, 2020. The other two committee members were: Weizhen Mao (Area III), and Area III – Stephen Sheehi (Area I). The subcommittee reviewed eight nominations and forwarded three names to the Dean as "Most Qualified" with a brief explanation of accomplishments the committee felt supported this ranking.
- 5. **Term Distinguished Associate Professors:** John Parman (Area II), Denys Pochyvanyk (Area III) and Charles Palermo (CFAPP, Area I) met Monday, November 18 to select recommendations for this year's Term Distinguished Associate Professorships. The committee forwarded the names to Dean Conley's office. Dean Conley e-mailed the chair to ask that the committee revisit its recommendations and reconsider or offer clarification for its decisions, which it did on the afternoon of November 25. The committee submitted a slightly revised set of recommendations.
- 6. A&S Governance Awards. Jonathan Scheerer (CFAPP, Area III) chaired this subcommittee, comprised also of John Riofrio (Area I) and Cathy Forestell (Area II) which met on Tuesday, February 4 from 2PM–3PM to discuss the 9 candidates for Faculty Governance Awards (5 for >10yrs; 4 for <10yrs). Selection recommendations were emailed to the dean's office.</p>

Committee Membership: Jenkins and Smirni complete their three-year service in Spring 2020. They are replaced by Brian Blouet (Area II) and Stathopoulos (Area III). We appreciate that Nominations and Elections secured a full committee membership for CFAPP for the next academic year.

Recommendations

 In Fall 2019 CFAPP made a recommendation regarding future calls for Eminent Professorships. The committee felt that an exhaustive set of syllabi and teaching evaluations of the past 5 years is excessive. We recommend instead to ask candidates to provide only representative samples of teaching evaluations and syllabi. The committee agrees that the current requirement to provide a "Course List and Summary Table" is very useful and suggests to further extend this table by providing the number of students in the class as well as the number of responders. We are pleased to see that this recommendation has been adopted in the Perles Professorship call in Spring 2020.

- 2) In the Chancellor professorship nominations, there were some nominations that did not abide by the "2-page nominator letter" recommendation and felt that the nominators who followed the rule were at a disadvantage to those who did not. A stronger wording in future calls is perhaps appropriate.
- 3) We request a yearly meeting with the Dean of Arts and Sciences at the beginning of Fall to discuss the committee's process and goals for the academic year.
- 4) In the last meeting of the committee, provided that only 50% of next year's membership was present, we did not identify the future chair/co-chairs of this committee. It is our hope that this will be rectified in the first CFAPP meeting of the 20-21 academic year.