William & Mary

Shrieves Prize

The Shrieves Prize is awarded each year to the junior Honors student who, in the estimation of the Director of Honors, the Chair of English, or committee designated by the Chair, presents the most innovative and promising research proposal for a senior Honors thesis. The prize was established in 2008 by Alfred J. and Ann C. Shrieves.

2013,  Eleanor Pace. Resulting thesis, "Southern Life As It Is": Fictional Responses to Uncle Tom's Cabin. 

2012, Emma Aylor. Resulting thesis, "The Vernacular of Light" : Wallace Stevens' Constructions of Belief. (Highest Honors)

2011,  Katelyn Durkin
Resulting thesis, "The (Re-)Production Craze: Taylorism, the Modern American Family, and Non-Progressive Narratives in Edith Wharton's Late Fiction" (Highest Honors)

2010, Victoria Paige Pinkston
Resulting thesis, "'Our Voices will not be Silenced': Edwidge Danticat, Haiti, and the Silences of History" (High Honors)

2009, Margaret Adele Hutchison
Resulting thesis, "The Cast-off Mistress: The Changing face of Seafaring in Conrad's middle-fiction" (High Honors)