William & Mary


In its Honors Program the Neuroscience program awards one level of Honors to student research projects. The projects listed below have been defended successfully, and a copy of the thesis deposited in Swem Library.

  • Student, "Thesis" (Honors level)
    Committee Chair + Other Committee Members
  • Emma Albert-Stone, "Role of Cholinergic Projections to the Orbitofrontal Cortex in Probability Discounting in a Rat Model" (Honors) 
    Josh Burk + Randolph Coleman and Pamela Hunt
  • Elise Braatz, "A Quantitative Analysis of Insulin Signaling in Neurodegeneration" (Honors) 
    Randolph Coleman + Joshua Burk and Deborah Noonan
  • Sean Chadwick, "Central Auditory Processing Disorder: Towards a Therapeutic EEG Neurofeedback Brain Computer Interface" (Honors) 
    Paul Kieffaber + Christy Porter, Christopher Ball and Greg Smith
  • Lindsay Maguire, "The Effects of Gabapentin on the Firing Rates of Thermoregulatory Neurons in the Preoptic Anterior Hypothalamus in Modulation of Hot Flashes" (Honors)
    John Griffin + Randolph Coleman and Bev Sher
  • Rachel Sillcox, "Language Deficits Assessed in an Apasic Patient" (Honors) 
    Jennifer A. Stevens + Paul Kieffaber, Denise Wade, Mark McLaughlin
  • Cassidy Reich, "The Effects of Nicotine on a Probability-Discounting Task" (Honors) 
    Josh Burk + Randolph Coleman, Debbie Noonan
  • Elizabeth Wolfe, "Basal Forebrain Noncholinergic Neurons: The Overlooked Mediators of Sustained Attention" (Honors)
    Joshua Burk + John Griffin, Alexander Angelov
  • Kellyn Carrierfenster, "Specification of the GABAergic and glutamatergic neurotransmitter phenotypes in Xenopus laevis" (Honors)
    Margaret Saha + John Griffin, Paul Heideman, Christopher Del Negro
  • Terence Imbery, "An Analysis of COX-2 Derived Prostaglandin E2 (PGE2) in the Alpha-1 and Alpha-2 Adrenoreceptor-Mediated Responses of Thermally Classified Neurons in the Anterior Hypothalamus" (Honors)
    John Griffin + Lisa Landino, Randy Coleman
  • Kathleen Altemose, "The Effects of Loss of Cortical Acetylcholine on Divided Attention in Rats" (Honors)
    Josh Burk + Pam Hunt, Randy Coleman
  • Erin Crowder, "Phosphatidylinositol 4,5-Biphosphate Regulates Inspiratory Burst Activity in the Neonatal Muse PreBotzinger Complex" (Honors)
    Christopher Del Negro + John Griffin, Margaret Saha, Marc Sher
  • Susannah Anderson, "Do Voice Characteristics Aid Word Memory? Speech Processing Models and Speaker Variation" (Honors)
    Chris Ball + Jennifer Stevens, Chris Scales
  • Eric Baker
    Pamela Hunt + Josh Burk, Mark Forsyth
  • Laura Hack, "The Effects of Leptin on the Firing Rates of Thermoregulatory Neurons in the Anterior Hypothalamus" (Honors)
    John Griffin + Eric Bradley, Randy Coleman
  • Shawna Kettyle, "Acute Effects of Light Exercise on Short-Term Memory Tasks in Older Adults" (Honors)
    Jennifer Stevens + Robert Kohl, Marc Raphael
  • Kristen Malkus, "Analysis of Potential Regulators of Glutamatergic and GABAergic Neural Differentiation" (Honors)
    Margaret Saha + John Griffin, Lizabeth Allison, Randy Coleman
  • Beth Pecora, "Thermoregulatory Projections to the Dorsomedial Hypothalmus" (Honors)
    John Griffin + Paul Heideman, Randy Coleman
  • Lindsay Young, "The Influence of Fatigue on Cognitive and Motor Performance" (Honors)
    Jennifer Stevens + Michael Deschenes, Alan Goldman
  • Karl Mendoza
    John Griffin + Lisa Anderson, Randy Coleman
  • Lindsay Walker
    Pamela Hunt + Katherine Preston, Michael Deschenes